the12volt.com spacer
icon

2000 Ford F-250 7.3 Diesel, Viper 4806V Install

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
apexautomotive 
Member - Posts: 12
Member spacespace
Posted: December 10, 2018 at 3:56 PM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote apexautomotive
Hey guys, I'll be installing the Viper 4806V in a 2000 Ford F250 7.3 Diesel with factory keyless this week. I've never done a diesel before so I have a couple questions - any input is welcome.
1a. With it being a diesel, can I get away with using the Virtual Tach feature of the Viper? Or am I better off finding a tach source?
1b. If I do need to find the tach, I've read multiple threads about there being an open tach wire (with heat shrink on the end) somewhere in this truck, can someone confirm this? Some threads say under the hood, some say under the dash.
2. Instead of the WTS wire, I'm planning to use the Diesel Start Delay set to 45 seconds. Is this the recommended method?
3. Door Locks - based on my research, I can simply use the (-) triggers in the gray molex plug next to the steering column. Correct?
4. It looks like this vehicle may have an Ignition 3 (thin Red/Black wire). Do you guys worry about this one? If so I'm guessing I'll need to run a relay, as this Viper only supports IGN 1/2?
For what it's worth, I'm MECP basic certified, but do very little security/convenience installs. If you have any tips/tricks on this vehicle I'd love to hear them.
Thanks!
tonanzith 
Gold - Posts: 593
Gold spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Posted: December 10, 2018 at 9:47 PM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote tonanzith
Here’s your wiring. Honestly I would use the wait to start wire. No timed delay. And definitely a tach wire.
Download pdf
Gary Sather
apexautomotive 
Member spacespace
Posted: December 10, 2018 at 10:02 PM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote apexautomotive
Thanks so much for the wiring info and your input! Much appreciated.
davep.