the12volt.com spacer
icon

Clipping in Speakers and Head Unit Gain

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
joeslacker 
Member - Posts: 9
Member spacespace
Posted: May 22, 2019 at 8:41 PM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote joeslacker
Ok so I'm getting really pitchy highs when I turn my volume up on my Kenwood KFC-X303 cd receiver. I had a friend tell me to lower the right end of the line graph and I did so. Then he told me to lower the gain. I'm pretty new to car audio so I found two gains one in the crossover and one in DTE settings on the head unit.
I turned down the tweeter front right, front left, rear right, rear left, in the DTE settings to -3db from zero.
Then I turned down the tweeter gain left and gain right to -3db from zero as well. I also turned the front HPF and Rear HPF gain to -3db from zero as well.
This didn't seem to help the clipping. I'm using 14 awg wire at a length of about 20 feet each to each speaker. Don't know exactly what ohm setup it is but i would imagine if it's 2 ohm then maybe the speaker can't handle that power from the amp in my head unit maybe? (22 watts rms). Also am using a 30 volt ac to dc converter for my home don't know if this matters though.
Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks guys.
joeslacker 
Member spacespace
Posted: May 22, 2019 at 8:41 PM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote joeslacker
There is no make or model to my car since I'm using this in a home.
geepherder 
Platinum - Posts: 3,668
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Posted: May 22, 2019 at 9:01 PM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote geepherder
How high is the volume when this starts to occur (30 out of 35, higher, lower, etc.)? Is it on one particular source (AM/FM/CD) or all? What speakers are you using and what is their rated impedance?
My ex once told me I have a perfect face for radio.
joeslacker 
Member spacespace