the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

Stereo Has Power, No Sound, 2004 Honda Civic


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
dj smith 
Member - Posts: 7
Member spacespace
Joined: December 07, 2020
Location: Florida, United States
Posted: December 07, 2020 at 4:47 PM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote dj smith
I have a 2004 Civic ex sedan the stereo gets power no sound I connected up an aftermarket stereo still the same problem. I have been hearing there is a factory installed amp in this car, is this true, if so where is it located
Donald Smith
i am an idiot 
Platinum - Posts: 13,287
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: September 21, 2006
Location: Louisiana, United States
Posted: December 07, 2020 at 10:30 PM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote i am an idiot
Directechs makes no mention of an amplifier in an 04, they do show it under the center dash in the 06.
dj smith 
Member - Posts: 7
Member spacespace
Joined: December 07, 2020
Location: Florida, United States
Posted: December 08, 2020 at 9:06 AM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote dj smith
Thank you for your response looks like I have a wiring issue tiem to solve this issue. Is there anywhere I should look for the possible culprit?
Donald Smith
i am an idiot 
Platinum - Posts: 13,287
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: September 21, 2006
Location: Louisiana, United States
Posted: December 08, 2020 at 11:08 AM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote i am an idiot
Did you purchase the wiring harness for the vehicle? #1 culprit would be a shorted speaker or a grounded speaker wire. Do you have or have access to a multimeter?
dj smith 
Member - Posts: 7
Member spacespace
Joined: December 07, 2020
Location: Florida, United States
Posted: December 08, 2020 at 11:15 AM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote dj smith
I have a multimeter its the harness that the car came with from the factory ill start searching time to figure out where to start
Donald Smith
geepherder 
Platinum - Posts: 3,584
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: October 27, 2003
Posted: December 08, 2020 at 1:35 PM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote geepherder
He's asking if you used one of these to adapt the factory harness to the new stereo:
http://metraonline.com/part/70-1721
If not, your local shop (Best Buy, Car Toys, etc.) should carry it or an equivalent. Alternatively you could order online- check Amazon, eBay, etc. It makes installation much simpler.
My ex once told me I have a perfect face for radio.
dj smith 
Member - Posts: 7
Member spacespace
Joined: December 07, 2020
Location: Florida, United States
Posted: December 08, 2020 at 1:45 PM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote dj smith
I have the harness for the aftermarket stereo still same problem power no sound I guess im gonna have to trace wires
Donald Smith
geepherder 
Platinum - Posts: 3,584
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: October 27, 2003
Posted: December 08, 2020 at 5:39 PM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote geepherder
If you unplug the harness from the stereo, try testing for resistance across the speaker leads.
My ex once told me I have a perfect face for radio.
i am an idiot 
Platinum - Posts: 13,287
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: September 21, 2006
Location: Louisiana, United States
Posted: December 08, 2020 at 7:46 PM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote i am an idiot
Still not clear as to if there is a harness or not. If there is a harness, disconnect all speaker wires. Using your meter set to Ohms or to 200 ohms check resistance across the 4 speaker pairs. Should not read below 3 ohms on any of them. Then ground one lead of the meter and check to each of the 8 speaker wires. None of them should give you a reading. If one or both wires of one pair show some kind of reading, reconnect the other 6 wires, leaving that pair disconnected, does it play?
dj smith 
Member - Posts: 7
Member spacespace
Joined: December 07, 2020
Location: Florida, United States
Posted: December 09, 2020 at 5:47 PM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote dj smith
I do have the harness for my aftermarket stereo Ihave that power no sound with both the factory stereo and the aftermarket one. I dont have the time to remove the door panels to check the fromt speakers the car is my daily driver
Donald Smith
Page of 2

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Monday, April 12, 2021 • Copyright © 1999-2021 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer