the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

2004.5 Ford F-250 6.0L, Viper 5906v Install


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
jherb92 
Member - Posts: 18
Member spacespace
Joined: March 01, 2021
Location: Colorado, United States
Posted: March 01, 2021 at 9:12 AM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote jherb92
Howdy y'all.
So I'm having issues with installing my r/s..I was told to come over this direction to get some insight.
So at this time, I removed the 10pin harness as I have given up on trying to make r/s work but I still want it in but cant get anyone to explain "in detail" where wires need to go..its nice to see that these are the wires in the truck "factory" you would use but I need to know from the "viper" module what wires go where on to the deisel to make this work and if I'm using all the wires provided for r/s.
Security works, need to make some adjustments but it works.
Please..any helpful insight or pictures of what you did yourself or had other people install it for you would be greatful.
Thanks for reading, hope to hear from someone soon.
kreg357 
Platinum - Posts: 7,441
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Security and Convenience. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: January 30, 2009
Location: New York, United States
Posted: March 01, 2021 at 12:21 PM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote kreg357
Do the ignition wires in your truck match up with this Pictorial?
https://www.the12volt.com/installbay/forum_posts.asp?tid=133810
One possible exception : With a Diesel engine, the Ignition1 wire might be WHITE/YELLOW instead of the Red/Lt Green shown in the Pictorial.
Soldering is fun!
jherb92 
Member - Posts: 18
Member spacespace
Joined: March 01, 2021
Location: Colorado, United States
Posted: March 01, 2021 at 1:57 PM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote jherb92
Kreg357, yes.
The pictorial on this site matches up but doesnt give a description of where the wires from the "viper" module go or which ones I need to make it work.
My ignition is white/yellow that's was easy to figure out but when I had my 10pin installed I had all the wires installed where/what I could decipher i always got "remote start unavailable".
I had the 24pin wires that needed to be grounded, grounded for remote start, I dont understand the pulse to the activation input though? How do you pulse to a ground wire..I tried to use the lock wire for the door lock to give a pulse but no luck. I found that on another form to try it.
kreg357 
Platinum - Posts: 7,441
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Security and Convenience. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: January 30, 2009
Location: New York, United States
Posted: March 01, 2021 at 2:04 PM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote kreg357
Try this...
Viper 10 Pin harness
1   Empty
2   RED/BLACK FUSED (30A) ACC/STARTER INPUT              to Yellow#1 at main ignition harness
3   PINK/BLACK FLEX RELAY INPUT 87A not used
4   PINK/WHITE (+) IGNITION 2 / FLEX RELAY       to Red/Black at main ignition harness * set to ACC2
5   RED (+) FUSED (30A) IGNITION 1 INPUT            to Yellow#2 at main ignition harness
6   GREEN (+) STARTER INPUT (KEY SIDE)             to Dark Green at main ignition harness cut wire - ign switch side
7   VIOLET (+) STARTER OUTPUT (CAR SIDE)       to Dark Green at main ignition harness cut wire - vehicle side
8   ORANGE ACCESSORY OUTPUT           to Gray/Yellow to at main ignition harness
9   RED/WHITE (30A) FUSED IGNITION     to Green/Purple to at main ignition harness
10 PINK (+) IGNITION 1 INPUT/OUTPUT to White/Yellow (or Red/Lt. Green) at main ignition harness
Extra 30/40 Amp SPDT relay for ACC3
Relay Pin 85 to Viper Pin 23 of 24 Orange (-) 200 mA Accessory Output
Relay Pin 86 and 87 to Green/Purple to at main ignition harness - fuse at 25 Amps
Relay Pin 30 to Dark Blue/Lt. Green at main ignition harness
Pin 12 of 24 Violet/White (AC)   Tach In     to Green/White
The DIESEL TACH wire is a GREEN/WHITE wire, located in a 5-pin harness held up with tape behind the parking brake release.
Set Viper to fixed 15 second Diesel Delay. Menu 3, Feature 9, Option 2.
Soldering is fun!
kreg357 
Platinum - Posts: 7,441
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Security and Convenience. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: January 30, 2009
Location: New York, United States
Posted: March 01, 2021 at 2:59 PM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote kreg357
Re lock wires
Did the truck come with factory remote keyless entry? If not, then you have Type C locks and need relays or a Directed 451M module to interface the locks. Type C is shown in the Pictorial.
Re no remote start
Is your truck a Manual Transmission or Automatic transmission? If AT, did you change the Viper programming? Factory default is MT.
You will use the Viper remotes to remote start the truck so you won't use the Start Ativation wire.
Soldering is fun!
jherb92 
Member - Posts: 18
Member spacespace
Joined: March 01, 2021
Location: Colorado, United States
Posted: March 01, 2021 at 5:40 PM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote jherb92
Thanks for the Information kreg357.
I will try match those up to the truck and see what happens.
The truck did not come with remote start, no alarm just a remote lock.
The truck is AT, how do I tell it "viper" it's an auto?? Theres no detail on how to do this..
So in the 24pin what or how do I give a pulse to the activation input?
My door locks work with the "new" remote and does arme.
Is it better instead of using the chassis ground stated in the installation manual or just go straight to ground for the controller power harness?
And when you say park brake you mean e-brake?
kreg357 
Platinum - Posts: 7,441
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Security and Convenience. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: January 30, 2009
Location: New York, United States
Posted: March 01, 2021 at 6:53 PM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote kreg357
The Viper 5706 should have come with a 2 page install guide. Page 2 has the Viper programming options listed. See Menu 3 Feature 1 for Transmission Mode. You must change that from the Default to Option 2 - Automatic Transmission. There should be a more complete 5706 Install Guide in the Downloads section of this Forum.
The White/Blue Activation Input wire is not used for your application. You will use the Vipers remotes remote start button to initiate a R/S. If you wanted to test the R/S function without the remote, you could briefly touch this wire to Chassis Ground. It will do the same thing as the remote button.
The Vipers Chassis Ground wire should be properly connected to a solid paint and rust free frame metal. Think the Pictorial shows a decent chassis ground point.
Assuming that you run in Tach Mode, you must change the Viper programming, Menu 3, Feature 2 to Option 4 and perform a Tach Learn.
Yes, the bundle of wires with the Diesel Tach wire is taped to the E-Brake or Emergency Brake or Parking Brake release bracket.
Have you verified that you truck does not have a PATS immobilizer system? Can you start the truck with a plain hardware store $1.99 metal key? If you have the PATS system, you will need a bypass module for a R/S to work.
Soldering is fun!
jherb92 
Member - Posts: 18
Member spacespace
Joined: March 01, 2021
Location: Colorado, United States
Posted: March 01, 2021 at 7:17 PM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote jherb92
Kreg357 is there a difference between the 5706 viper and the 5906v?
The 4 pages I have on the remote to scroll through dont give me an option for transmission..that I've noticed.
Ok I'll look behind there for those wires.
Yes, I have the ground to where the pictorial shows.
I use a basic key, no chip in the key.
So I wont need the activation input, cool.
"Extra 30/40 Amp SPDT relay for ACC3
Relay Pin 85 to Viper Pin 23 of 24 Orange (-) 200 mA Accessory Output
Relay Pin 86 and 87 to Green/Purple to at main ignition harness - fuse at 25 Amps
Relay Pin 30 to Dark Blue/Lt. Green at main ignition"
So what does this section mean??
kreg357 
Platinum - Posts: 7,441
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Security and Convenience. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: January 30, 2009
Location: New York, United States
Posted: March 01, 2021 at 7:48 PM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote kreg357
"Extra 30/40 Amp SPDT relay for ACC3
Relay Pin 85 to Viper Pin 23 of 24 Orange (-) 200 mA Accessory Output
Relay Pin 86 and 87 to Green/Purple to at main ignition harness - fuse at 25 Amps
Relay Pin 30 to Dark Blue/Lt. Green at main ignition"
So what does this section mean??"
To power all of the trucks ignition wires you will need an additional ACC output that the Viper can not directly supply. The external relay uses the Vipers (-) Accessory output to create a high power +12V output that the truck needs. You can get these Bosch style relays with the 5 wire harness from various places.
The 5706 is very closely related to the 5906 system. Here is a link to the full install guide.
https://www.the12volt.com/installbay/file.asp?ID=1362
Soldering is fun!
jherb92 
Member - Posts: 18
Member spacespace
Joined: March 01, 2021
Location: Colorado, United States
Posted: March 01, 2021 at 7:54 PM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote jherb92
Kreg357 so snap..I have to install this relay.
That isn't supplied in the module..
I have seen the pictorial of this but figured mine had the relay Installed in the module.
So the pin harness I create will connect to these wires, via pictorial with installed relay. Where will the ACC3 be Implemented?
And were just talking a basic 5 pin relay?
Page of 4

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Sunday, June 13, 2021 • Copyright © 1999-2021 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer