the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

iDatalink T-Harness, ADS-ALCA, Viper 3305V, 2007 Jeep Wrangler


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
rainman1961 
Member - Posts: 9
Member spacespace
Joined: October 12, 2021
Location: Colorado, United States
Posted: October 21, 2021 at 5:24 PM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote rainman1961
I have an idatalink ADS-AL CA bypass and a T-harness for Chrysler (ADSTHRCH5) for my Jeep Wrangler 2007 JK. I wanted to avoid locating and splicing into the wires as much as possible. However, I don't actually see how this T-harness connects to the bypass--none of the plugs on the harness appear able to connect to the bypass. Clearly I've misunderstood this. Any tips? Did I buy the wrong T-harness or am I just an idiot (possibly both).
I've got the bypass flashed, and ultimately want to connect up a Viper 3305V. Thanks for any insights.
kreg357 
Platinum - Posts: 7,578
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Security and Convenience. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: January 30, 2009
Location: Pennsylvania, United States
Posted: October 22, 2021 at 10:34 AM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote kreg357
You have the wrong T-Harness. You need the DBI-HRN CH5 T-Harness. This harness is no longer made but you might be able to find one somewhere. The ADS-THR-CH5 you have is made for the FT-DC3-LC or FLRSBA controller or
similar HC3 series units. You might be able to use the ADS AL-CA supplied harness's and cut and splice into your ADS-THR-CH5. The T-Harness only save you 6 vehicle wire connections.
Here is a link to the iDatalink install guide for your application ( see the Type 8 install ) : http://images.idatalink.com/corporate/Content/Manuals/DL-CH5/DBI-AL(DL)-CH5-EN_20210107.pdf
Soldering is fun!
rainman1961 
Member - Posts: 9
Member spacespace
Joined: October 12, 2021
Location: Colorado, United States
Posted: October 22, 2021 at 11:55 AM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote rainman1961
Thanks so much for the information!
rainman1961 
Member - Posts: 9
Member spacespace
Joined: October 12, 2021
Location: Colorado, United States
Posted: October 23, 2021 at 12:29 PM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote rainman1961
I'm wondering, if you have any thoughts, why would they no longer make a T-Harness for a current product such as the ADS-AL CA?
kreg357 
Platinum - Posts: 7,578
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Security and Convenience. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: January 30, 2009
Location: Pennsylvania, United States
Posted: October 23, 2021 at 5:44 PM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote kreg357
My guess would be partly lack of demand and partly trying to push customers toward their newer products. While the ADS AL-CA is a great module it has been around for over 10 years.
Soldering is fun!
rainman1961 
Member - Posts: 9
Member spacespace
Joined: October 12, 2021
Location: Colorado, United States
Posted: October 25, 2021 at 8:57 AM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote rainman1961
Thanks. I used your suggestion that the harness might still be used: I cut off the bottom parts and I can still use the part that taps into the immobilizer. I soldered it to the bypass without having to use the ignition wires- original intent was to not have to splice into the ignition wires. So, it pretty much serves its purpose just the same, albeit with a bit more work. Thanks again.
rainman1961 
Member - Posts: 9
Member spacespace
Joined: October 12, 2021
Location: Colorado, United States
Posted: October 28, 2021 at 12:19 PM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote rainman1961
When I connect an ADS-ALCA to a Viper 3305V everything appears to work--except the doors won't lock or unlock. The Viper clearly knows when a door opens--it will alarm. Question I'm hoping someone can assist with: should the data link from the ADS-ALCA to the Viper carry door lock/unlock capability? Or do I have to specifically wire that directly from the viper to a door lock wire. Thanks.
kreg357 
Platinum - Posts: 7,578
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Security and Convenience. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: January 30, 2009
Location: Pennsylvania, United States
Posted: October 28, 2021 at 4:24 PM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote kreg357
Did your Wrangler come from the factory with power locks?
Did you flash the ADS AL-CA with the DBI-AL(DL)-CH5 version of firmware?
Are you going D2D between the Viper and the ADS AL-CA?
Soldering is fun!
rainman1961 
Member - Posts: 9
Member spacespace
Joined: October 12, 2021
Location: Colorado, United States
Posted: October 28, 2021 at 10:17 PM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote rainman1961
Yes, Wrangler has power locks and a key fob with lock/unlock buttons.
Yes, I did flash the ADS AL-CA from the iDatalink site - seems to work fine. the module appeared to "learn" correctly--at least the patterns of flashing led on the module seemed as expected when going through the learning process. The viper will alarm if you arm it and open the door.
yes, I'm using the data 2 data link between the Viper and ADS AL-CA. The only other wires are the siren into the viper and the viper into power source and ground
Thanks.
kreg357 
Platinum - Posts: 7,578
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Security and Convenience. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: January 30, 2009
Location: Pennsylvania, United States
Posted: October 29, 2021 at 2:19 AM / IP Logged Link to Post Post Reply Quote kreg357
Just to be sure...
There are two versions of CH5 Firmware, ADS and DBI. You need the DBI version to go D2D with the Viper R/S system and be able to fully communicate with each other via the data cable. Additionally, you need to set the ADS AL-CA to DATA MODE and lock it in prior to doing the actual vehicle programming.
Other than that, I would ensure a good Viper Chassis Ground connection. I always use a soldered on terminal ring and go to a solid, paint and rust-free frame point. And of course no T-Taps. Everything should be soldered.
Soldering is fun!
Page of 2

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Friday, January 21, 2022 • Copyright © 1999-2022 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer