icon

civic amp/wires/sub install

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
stockcivic 
Member - Posts: 28
Member spacespace
Posted: June 25, 2003 at 12:33 AM / IP Logged  

alright guys, my first post here and I must confess I am a car audio newbie! hopefully you guys can offer some guidance. I just bought a single alpine SWR-1241D subwoofer (12" 4ohm 300w rms) and a KnuKoncepts 4 gauge amp wiring kit. I have a sony xplod mp3 head unit. I need help with putting in the wire kit mostly- along with everything else.

First, which amp should I get? I was looking at like a rockford fosgate punch 300s or 400s amp, they are cheap and there seems to be a good deal of satisfaction with them. any other suggestions on powering this sub (i picked 4 gauge wire just in case I ever went bigger I wouldn't have to tear up my car again)?

my big problem is I need to install the amp wiring and I have never done that before, I am good with cars and DIY and stuff but I feel I may need some guidance here. if anybody has installed on a 96+ honda civic please help me out here!!!!! like how do I get power cable through the firewall (supposedly there are auxiliary boots that come out underneath the battery)? and how does the power cable attach to the battery, do I need to buy a new terminal or something? I understand that I am not supposed to run the power cable with the RCA cables, I will need to run them down opposite sides of the car correct? and finally how do I get those wires under all that carpeting, panels, seats etc.?

I will deal with the rattles and the construction of my box later- if you could provide answers to any of the long line of questions above that would be GREAT!!!!!!!!!!

chevylove 
Copper - Posts: 51
Copper spacespace
Posted: June 25, 2003 at 1:09 AM / IP Logged