meeting wattage problem

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
jaymes 
Copper - Posts: 47
Copper spacespace
Posted: November 02, 2003 at 8:51 AM / IP Logged  

here's my scenero.

My subs are 700w max power and 175 rms. 4 ohms. I will b running 2 of them.

My amp for the subs is 2 channel 2x800 watts max and 400 rms. (also bridgable)

Is it even possible to run these together without blowing the subs? and if so please tell me how.

I am new to this and any answers will be greatly appreciated.

THank you

DYohn 
Moderator - Posts: 10,741
Moderator spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: November 02, 2003 at 9:00 AM / IP Logged  

What is the make/model of the amp?  In general, the specs you have listed should present no problems.  But tell us the type of amp and maybe there is an optimum setup we can recomend.

jaymes 
Copper spacespace
Posted: November 02, 2003 at 10:00 AM / IP Logged  

The amp is a lanzar ( i know its cheap but i am on tight budget) vibe 258.  fuses are 25Ax2 . 2x400 rms 2x800 max. 1x1600 @ 4 ohms briged. Wouldi just have to set the level really low or what>

THanks

Alpine Guy 
Platinum - Posts: 2,478
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: November 02, 2003 at 10:54 AM / IP Logged  

you will be lucky to get 700 watts peak out of that amp and 100% efficiency.

The amp will not blow the subs unless you crank it to much it clip it.

If the amp is 2 ohm stable, than i would bridge it.  Just run te 2 positives from the subs to the positive bridge point on the amp, and the 2 negatives from the subs to the negative bridge point on the amp.

jaymes 
Copper spacespace