icon

dimples in fiberglass

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
hbk00 
Copper - Posts: 64
Copper spacespace
Posted: December 01, 2003 at 11:32 AM / IP Logged  
Got a question I think I allready know the answer to but I'm looking for anymore tips or "tricks" I may not know. I'm fiberglassing a center council and dash and I'm done sanding, baby butt smooth, now the problem I'm running into is after I've primed I can slightly notice little dimples here and there none that you can notice to the "touch" but if you looking at the right angle you can see them, and its probably somthing nobody would notice unless you've glassed before but I know they're there, now how do I get rid of them so its all even and perfect? Just more bondo and more sanding or what? Any help or comments is apreciated. Thanks
go custom or go home!!
noob 
Copper - Posts: 92
Copper spacespace
Posted: December 01, 2003 at 12:19 PM / IP Logged  
im pretty new to glassing, but yea id have to say more bondo untill its all perfect.....
pureRF 
Silver - Posts: 619
Silver spacespace
Posted: December 01, 2003 at 1:40 PM / IP Logged  
ive used both of these methods but you can either A. Put on gloves and apply bondo with your fingers to the dimples, the gloves allow you to push the bondo into the dimple. Also make sure all other dust is out of the dimple or the bondo hold will not be strong.
B. This is my fav. Take a syringe and fill it with resin and inject the resin into the hole. let dry then sand smooth. This one seems to work the best because with the bondo it is sometimes hard to get the bondo in a small dimple. you can get the syringe at kroger somtimes for turkeys and stuff hope that helps
dream it, build it, fiberglass it
kustomcarluvr 
Copper - Posts: 73
Copper spacespace
Posted: December 02, 2003 at 11:17 AM / IP Logged