icon

Amp Bridge

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
raico 
Member - Posts: 6
Member spacespace
Posted: December 28, 2003 at 9:41 AM / IP Logged  

hey guys im quite new to this scene but already quite enthusiastic and motivated.

I bought a 2 channel (40w x 2) amp to power my sub. it isnt much but will have to do for the moment. The sub is a 200mm Sub (nothing special, 40w Rms, 150w max) and want to join the 2 channels on my amp to combine the power and have more blast for the sub. The amp has 4ohm's per channel. Could i just wire it all like a series circuit to bridge it?

Also, when i tested the system it sounded a bit tinny i.e. there was treble comin through with the bass and it sounded crap mixed together not quite 100% subwoofer. I added a crossover but it didnt do much. I have 2 crossovers so could i add them to the whole ensemble? Also would it hold the 150W max of each of the crossovers?

I know it might make the whole thing a bit complicated but im on a real tight budget at the mo. I would appreciate any help. Ive gotten from knowing nothing about car stereo to installing my own equipment thanks to reading these helpfull forums and install guides. Thanx!!!!

jakita 
Copper - Posts: 56
Copper spacespace
Posted: December 28, 2003 at 1:08 PM / IP Logged  
Is your sub in an enclosure?  Only use one crossover on a single channel.  What Brand/Model equipment do you have?  Do you own a multimeter?  I can help you but I need this information.
jeffchilcott 
Platinum - Posts: 2,483
Platinum spacespace
Posted: December 28, 2003 at 3:09 PM / IP Logged  
is there a crossover on the amp at all or a lowpass/high pass switch?   what are the name brands on this equipment and what is the sub enclosed in?
2009 0-1000 Trunk WR 154.0DB 2009 1001+ Trunk WR
2007 USACI World Champion
2007 World Record
2006 USACI Finals 2nd Place
raico 
Member spacespace
Posted: December 30, 2003 at 8:33 AM / IP Logged  

phew, thanx for the reply.