icon

amp/sub install question

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
shadowrelic 
Member - Posts: 40
Member spacespace
Posted: February 08, 2004 at 6:43 PM / IP Logged  

ok im a huge newb when it comes to this kind of stuff so bare with me...

Question #1:

I just bought an amp and was trying to install it but i got to the last step (power) and i saw that it needed 8 guage wire... tied to a battery terminal.  is this normal in all amps?  my amp is 2 channel 200 watts and i wanted to hook my subs up to it.  (before i read 8 guage i was going to hook it up to the 12 volt wire my stereo was hooked up to... )

Question #2:

i have 2 kicker subs that are really old... i dont know how many watts or anything about them really but I was wondering if i hook them both up to a seperate channel or splice the bridged cable thats suposed to hook to 1 sub.

Question #3:

is there such thing as a BAD amp?  because i just got a 200 watt 2 channel amp for 50 bucks (i dont know what i was expecting but i cant get it hooked up yet without an 8 guage wire)  i just want to know if the amp could lower the quality of the music its amping...

Question #4:

is there any IRC or aol chats for speakers?  (little faster responce then with a forum :D )

2 subs
1 amp
0 knowledge of how to hook them up to my car.
customsuburb 
Gold - Posts: 1,813
Gold spacespace
Posted: February 08, 2004 at 7:08 PM / IP Logged