icon

Custom Dodge Dakota

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
djdaveoc 
Copper - Posts: 231
Copper spacespace
Posted: April 28, 2004 at 3:29 AM / IP Logged  

I am going to be doing a huge project in my Dodge Dakota, customizing the whole interior.  I think I've already spent about $400 on supplies including the tools.  I'm a rookie and maybe I could have saved money in some places, but I want to do this right and not be sorry.  I plan to glass the dash and maybe have it professionally painted since I've never painted before.  I also want to do the door panels and then make a huge amp rack/ housing for my JL12W7 sub in the back.  I'm dynamatting the whole inside with Dynamat Extreme and I want to make a suade (how do you spell that?) ceiling and get new custom carpet for the floor.  I'll also probably make a custom center console for the middle that will hopefully be home to a large monitor, and my PS2.  I also have purchased red and black vinyl racing seats from Tuned by Matrix and will have those installed soon.  (Will require welding or custom brackets by Wedge Engineering in Long Beach, CA)  I have read most of the posts on here and here is what I plan to do:

1.  Make plan and design project in my head and also draw it

2.  Purchase fiberglass resin with hardener, polyester fleece, fiberglass mat, particle board, glue, paint brushes, jig saw, dremel, tray to hold resin, gloves, plastic mat, staple gun and staples, bondo or Evercoat Rage Gold body filler, Maraglass or Duraglass (part bondo, part resin and mat mixed together), electric sander and pads

3.  Build frame of project in 3/4" MDF board and glue/bracket it together

4.  Install it in the truck, stretch fleece over the whole thing and staple it on the frame

5.  Resin the fleece and wait to dry

6.  Apply extra layers of fiberglass mat with resin to strengthen the shape and wait to dry

7.  Sand dried fiberglass as best I can and then apply layer of Maraglass for added strength