icon

amp wiring location for mitsubishi

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
kahlilj 
Member - Posts: 6
Member spacespace
Posted: May 27, 2004 at 4:53 PM / IP Logged  
amp wiring location for mitsubishi -- posted image.i'm a newbie at this so please have patience with me.. i'm trying to install an amp in my 90 eclipse and am not sure where to penetrate the firewall to run an 8 gauge power wire. for any folks who have done this on similar car, where did u take your wire thru? an existing hole/location in firewall or did u drill a new hole? if u did drill, where would u suggest to penetrate to avoid any damage or problems??
i'm assuming since my battery is on passenger side & amp will be as well, that is the best side to run power wire thru right?
thanks for your help!

kj
djMINIoompa 
Copper - Posts: 125
Copper spacespace
Posted: May 27, 2004 at 7:12 PM / IP Logged  
Hey, not familiar with that particular car, but is there room to just make a small cut in the gromet around the steering column? Thats what i usually do on older cars and its real easy to penetrate that.
BangBang 
Silver - Posts: 287
Silver spacespace
Posted: May 27, 2004 at 7:39 PM / IP Logged  
kahlilj wrote:
amp wiring location for mitsubishi -- posted image.i'm a newbie at this so please have patience with me.. i'm trying to install an amp in my 90 eclipse and am not sure where to penetrate the firewall to run an 8 gauge power wire. for any folks who have done this on similar car, where did u take your wire thru? an existing hole/location in firewall or did u drill a new hole? if u did drill, where would u suggest to penetrate to avoid any damage or problems??
i'm assuming since my battery is on passenger side & amp will be as well, that is the best side to run power wire thru right?
thanks for your help!

Ok this maybe a newbie question but what the heck is a firewall.

I PROBABLY ALREADY WHAT IT IS but not know the TERM for it. SO what is a firewall?
Ok, to answer your question: