icon

Idiot who bought new cd player

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
handsomeRob 
Member - Posts: 4
Member spacespace
Posted: June 13, 2004 at 2:37 PM / IP Logged  
Sorry, I'm a tatal novice, but I just bought a new car stereo from a department store to put on my'02 Elantra. The instructions that came with the stereo tell me where to conect the radio wires, but the car wires are not color coordinated the same. My question is, how do I know what each wire coming out of the dash leads to, is there a universal color code, like yellow is front left speaker or something like that?
Kevin
lensam69 
Copper - Posts: 63
Copper spacespace
Posted: June 13, 2004 at 2:46 PM / IP Logged  
The best thing you can do is buy a wire harness... Takes all the guessing out of installing. The harness is basically an adapter for your wires. You can find them at crutchfield, most auto sound shops, and yes, *sigh* wal-mart.
If not, it's trial and error time for you.
Tip for wires:
Solid color = positive
Color with black stripe = negative
forbidden wrote:
Wrong advice young grasshopper, go back to square one and do not pass go.
jussam 
Copper - Posts: 78
Copper spacespace
Posted: June 13, 2004 at 2:49 PM / IP Logged  
the best thing to do is check the wires going to each speaker, then write them down ,then get yourself a votage tester. go to the wiring harness check for power (+) then mark  it down then check acc (+)  mark it, when ignition is on thats your remote , then black is usally ground (-)
pimpincavy 
Silver - Posts: 880
Silver spacespace
Posted: June 13, 2004 at 4:37 PM / IP Logged  

Here are the wire colors for a 2000 Elantra https://www.the12volt.com/installbay/detail.asp?info=alarm&year=2000&make=Hyundai&model=Elantra&ID=18019&type=Stereo

Your car should have the same wire colors. Hope that helps.

aggie altima 
Silver - Posts: 298
Silver spacespace
Posted: June 13, 2004 at 4:49 PM / IP Logged