the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

Head Unit Manual Switched Power


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
jd68 
Member - Posts: 6
Member spacespace
Joined: April 22, 2004
Location: United States
Posted: June 30, 2004 at 11:25 AM / IP Logged  

Wondering if anyone has delt with making a simple toggle switch for operation of a head unit withour having to use the igition switch and what to look out for when wiring it, any input in apprciated

JD

raydawg357 
Silver - Posts: 769
Silver spacespace
Joined: June 17, 2003
Location: United States
Posted: June 30, 2004 at 2:39 PM / IP Logged  
That's simple.  All you have to do is run a toggle switch between the switched power wire.  You will still need to connect the constant power to maintain the memory.
Do it right the first time
jd68 
Member - Posts: 6
Member spacespace
Joined: April 22, 2004
Location: United States
Posted: July 01, 2004 at 1:54 PM / IP Logged  
so would you use the pre-ingition power wire, the memory power lead, or a seperate aux wire to place the toggle, im wondering considering the load on the different runs and how it will affect the car and radio
Mr.Swifty 
Member - Posts: 37
Member spacespace
Joined: May 27, 2003
Location: Canada
Posted: July 04, 2004 at 1:04 PM / IP Logged  
I do this in alot of the show cars, a toggle switch hooked up to constant power, works fine, I just put a 6amp diode inline so when you turn on the switch, the power only goes to the deck, and not the rest of the ACC circuit
jd68 
Member - Posts: 6
Member spacespace
Joined: April 22, 2004
Location: United States
Posted: July 05, 2004 at 9:14 PM / IP Logged  
Thanks Swifty,
tThats exactly what I needed to know, much easier than a I originally thought. additionally have you done this to other interior components? I only need to wire the radio for it, but was wondering about a few cars ive seen with those features including timed and switched setups. anyway thanks for putting me on the right track. oh and just to clear up one thing, the constant power can be the yellow lead before the head unit constant fuse and brought over to the acc lead? or used a seperate run all together?

Sorry, you can NOT post a reply.
This topic is closed.

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Sunday, August 14, 2022 • Copyright © 1999-2022 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer