New To Installing Remote Starters

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
newinstaller 
Copper - Posts: 160
Copper spacespace
Posted: July 11, 2004 at 10:17 PM / IP Logged  

Hi,

I am a new installer with some experience. I know how to do some alarms.

I am learning starters now.

Most common cars I do are Honda 90-98 Civics. I want to know about installing remote starters into them

First Question) Bulldog Security Says that Civics 96-98 have 2 Ignition Wires, if I am installing a Compustar How do I know if both Ignition wires need to be hooked up ( sorry if it is a stupid quesiton ) on this car or any car?

Any help would be great as every installer has started off like me :)

Thanks

swamprat323 
Gold - Posts: 1,335
Gold spacespace
Posted: July 11, 2004 at 10:35 PM / IP Logged  
If the list shows 2 of them hook them up. If you dont the car wont start. most times (not sure on the bulldog site) if an IGN wire dont need to be used it say so. i only see a few though. Same goes for the ACC if has more and one hook them up. Most alarms today have the wire for it, usallly 2 IGN and 2 ACC.
newinstaller 
Copper spacespace
Posted: July 11, 2004 at 10:40 PM / IP Logged  
Why would there be a 2ng Ignition anyways?
newinstaller 
Copper spacespace
Posted: July 11, 2004 at 11:07 PM / IP Logged  

But.... Does anyone know this car? Does the 2nd Ignition have to be hook ed up for my own knowledge

Thanks

aidipf 
Member - Posts: 23
Member spacespace
Posted: July 12, 2004 at 10:24 AM / IP Logged  
i'm not sure if it MUST to be hooked up but like swamprat323 said, it's always good to just hook both up anyway to avoid future conflicts of any kind. if you are stil curious about having to hook up the 2nd ign then i eould say test it without the wire hooked up first and then with it on. in most cases though, the 2nd and 3rd are not a MUST, especially the 3rd
mr. innovations
kgerry 
Platinum - Posts: 3,455