icon

Is Ebay reliable?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
jakediggity 
Copper - Posts: 84
Copper spacespace
Posted: July 16, 2004 at 2:48 PM / IP Logged  

I am thinking about purchasing a head unit on Ebay because it is priced at $ 329 rather than $549 at crutchfield, and I was wondering if these wholesalers are the real deal or if they're takin a dump in a box and slappin a guarentee on it.  If any of you have horror stories of buyin from ebay or think that its safe to shop there let me know, thanks.

Jay T 
Copper - Posts: 169
Copper spacespace
Posted: July 16, 2004 at 2:53 PM / IP Logged  

I have been buying on Ebay for 3 years now.  I have only run into one small problem in that entire time, doing over 60 transactions.  The biggest thing I can recomend is pay through something like paypal and your credit card for added security reasons.  Also Read the fine print because that $329 head unit may turn into $429 if you didn't read the part about the $100 dollar flat fee shipping.  Etc.  Feedback about sellers is usually fairly accurate to how they perform.   Look for sellers with higher feedback ratings.  And always ask quesions about the product if you have any concerns.  New in box? open box? used?  refurbished?  I've gotten some great deals through Ebay you just need to shop hard and read the details.

Best of Luck!

DYohn 
Moderator - Posts: 10,741
Moderator spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: July 16, 2004 at 2:57 PM / IP Logged  
Excellent advice above.  There is nothing wrong with shopping on ebay as long as you understand the limitations and do your homework.  Also I would suggest you ask the sellers if the factory warranties are honored on the purchase.
Support the12volt.com