icon

Newbie, custom fiberglass encolsure

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
r0yal 
Copper - Posts: 72
Copper spacespace
Posted: July 19, 2004 at 12:48 PM / IP Logged  
Hello there, I am very new to this fiberglassing stuff ,and am very interested..
is this what I need to buy?? say if I'm making a custom fiberglass encolsure
http://www.handsontools.com/store/show_product/?product_id=9624
and I can use basically any material? like, say I'm making a small box, I can use a big enough t-shirt to wrap, then just spread that stuff in the link on?? lol.. plz help :D
Coomer 
Copper - Posts: 103
Copper spacespace
Posted: July 19, 2004 at 1:53 PM / IP Logged  
That's a reinforced body filler, which you wouldn't want to use to construct the mold for a fiberglass sub enclosure. You'll want to use fiberglass resin combined with fiberglass mat or cloth.
I suggest having a look at these links. Newbie, custom fiberglass encolsure  -- posted image.
http://web.njit.edu/~cas1383/proj/main/
http://chris.pfharlock.com/glass/index.htm
r0yal 
Copper spacespace
Posted: July 19, 2004 at 3:58 PM / IP Logged  
r0yal 
Copper spacespace
Posted: July 19, 2004 at 4:00 PM / IP Logged  
and for when I make my thing, do I have to place the fiberglass cloth/mat on the top? or just the bottom layer, and then use any material for the top of the enclosure...? I read those tutorials, but just want to make sure. thx
CarAudioHelp 
Copper - Posts: 198
Copper spacespace
Posted: July 20, 2004 at 7:00 AM / IP Logged  

You're better off going to US Composites to get your fiberglass materials. Get the 2 ounce chop mat and the premium resin (about $20 a gallon), B-440 I think. You can get regular body filler there too, though I prefer Evercoat Rage Gold which they don't carry. Call a local auto body supplier and see if they carry it.