icon

sq and spl

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
jweber 
Member - Posts: 8
Member spacespace
Posted: July 22, 2004 at 1:54 PM / IP Logged  

im new to this whole audio specifics and everythign and bassically i dotn know much to do with alot of the set up and everything--i jsut like really loud music. and i was just wonderign if someone could clear up what sq and spl meant cuz i see it in so many of these forums and i just dont know hwat it means

thank

forbidden 
Platinum - Posts: 5,352
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: July 22, 2004 at 2:14 PM / IP Logged  

No problem dude.

SQ = sound quality or even better is if you like music and want to listen to it, this is for you.

SPL = sound pressure level or even better is how damn loud and annoying can it be.

There is a misguided form that combined this as well, called SQL

SQL = sound quality loud but there is some point in the threshold of human hearing that we can longer distinguish the difference in sound quality between one loud sound as compared to another loud sound. Thus SQL for all intents and purposes in non - existent and I for one sure wish people would not use it.

A lot of younger guys want the big bad bass bonanza booming blatently at all hours of the night, this is the SPL guy. He is more concerned with how loud my system is, unfortunately it has nothing to do with listening to your music and will cause permanent hearing damage. It is fairly simple to get a loud stereo system.