the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

Running 12v Trigger for multiple amps


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
tnrplaya 
Copper - Posts: 58
Copper spacespace
Joined: August 22, 2003
Location: United States
Posted: July 30, 2004 at 7:54 PM / IP Logged  

Hey everyone,

I am going to be running some wires for my upcoming install this weekend. I was wondering how I should run the 12v trigger for the 3 amps that I have, should I run 1 wire front to back and daisy chain or splitt off of that? should I run 3 seperate wires front to back? I thought I read a while back that the 12v trigger needs to be fused or relayed or something...can't quite remember. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Also, I assume that i should run the trigger along the same side of the car as my power cable. And run any signal cable down the other side. Am I correct in thinking this?

See my signature if you need to know what equipment I am running

Thanks in advance for helping out a newbie!

~Alvin

PG Limited Edition Octane Aplifier
PG Ti400.2
(2) JL12w6v2
Focal 165KF
JL TR-690TXi
Sony XAV-7W
Sony 10 Disc MP3 Changer
X-box
APC 350W inverter
Monster 1/0
Irragi 180A Alternator
tnrplaya 
Copper - Posts: 58
Copper spacespace
Joined: August 22, 2003
Location: United States
Posted: July 30, 2004 at 7:58 PM / IP Logged  

Oops.

My sig dosent show that I am running a PG ti400.2 in addition to the Limited Edition Octane. BTW the octane needs 2 seperate 12v triggers, it is essentially two 400.2's build onto one chasis...seperate power, ground, and triger for both sides. So I will need to trigger a total of 3 amps.

thanks for the help!

~Alvin

PG Limited Edition Octane Aplifier
PG Ti400.2
(2) JL12w6v2
Focal 165KF
JL TR-690TXi
Sony XAV-7W
Sony 10 Disc MP3 Changer
X-box
APC 350W inverter
Monster 1/0
Irragi 180A Alternator
dudek38 
Copper - Posts: 250
Copper spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: March 28, 2004
Location: United States
Posted: July 30, 2004 at 10:31 PM / IP Logged  
it doesnt matter if u run the remote wire on the rca side since it such low current. also just run one wire and connect it to one amp, then run jumpers to each amp. it doesnt need to be fused, just hook them up w/ radio or switch off.
owner of
Motion Marine & Car Audio
the florida keys
Ravendarat 
Platinum - Posts: 2,806
Platinum spacespace
Joined: February 23, 2004
Location: Canada
Posted: July 30, 2004 at 10:34 PM / IP Logged  
You should probally use a relay on the remote line.
double-secret reverse-osmosis speaker-cone-induced high-level interference distortion, Its a killer
Sound Pressure 
Silver - Posts: 711
Silver spacespace
Joined: March 09, 2002
Location: United States
Posted: July 31, 2004 at 12:26 AM / IP Logged  
I agree with raven. I would normally run a remote on a max of two devices, anything more than that I would use a relay to be safe. As far as the wires I usually run the power wires together on one side and the rca's and speaker cables on the other.
Sound Pressure
You know you have the right amount of pressure when your eyes start to water! Now you've got Juice!
mob.dynam.grad 
Copper - Posts: 73
Copper spacespace
Joined: May 23, 2004
Location: Canada
Posted: July 31, 2004 at 12:47 AM / IP Logged  

you should always fuse a power wire...get a fuse just under the wire gauges max current carrying capabilities.

tnrplaya 
Copper - Posts: 58
Copper spacespace
Joined: August 22, 2003
Location: United States
Posted: July 31, 2004 at 4:21 PM / IP Logged  

any elaboration on how to relay a remote wire for 3 amps?

thanks everyone

~Alvin

PG Limited Edition Octane Aplifier
PG Ti400.2
(2) JL12w6v2
Focal 165KF
JL TR-690TXi
Sony XAV-7W
Sony 10 Disc MP3 Changer
X-box
APC 350W inverter
Monster 1/0
Irragi 180A Alternator
kgerry 
Platinum - Posts: 3,455
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: February 07, 2004
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posted: July 31, 2004 at 4:41 PM / IP Logged  
 87 to 12 Volts, 85 to ground, 86 to remote out from deck & 30 to remote terminal on amps....
Kevin Gerry
Certified Electronics Technician
MECP First Class Installer
Owner/Installer
Classic Car Audio
since 1979

Sorry, you can NOT post a reply.
This topic is closed.

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Sunday, July 21, 2024 • Copyright © 1999-2024 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer