icon

What Happened To All The Good Amps?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
munchichee 
Copper - Posts: 51
Copper spacespace
Posted: August 25, 2004 at 7:09 AM / IP Logged  
Not too long ago when I was installing for a living you could find amps made of real **** with real power like the memphis hc100, lanzar 50c, old PPI amps, old Hifonics, old Phoenix Gold, old soundstream reference series, even the old RF amps did the job. And I know I've left off plenty who've switched to crap.
Now all these same manufacturers put out p.o.s. amps made in some sweatshop overseas with cheap parts and chrome plated trim. If you look back most the amps I referenced have a very similar design. How can a chrome heatsink even begin to do its job?
Are there any manufacturers still making what they used to? I haven't kept up for several years and finding an amp is becoming a hassle.
speedwayaudio1 
Silver - Posts: 879
Silver spacespace
Posted: August 25, 2004 at 7:41 AM / IP Logged  
U.S.Amps is a fine amp that is made by fine craftsman right here in Florida. Gainsville that is. Tons of power and high sq. worth every penny. Thats just one company of many that carry fine product and service.What Happened To All The Good Amps? -- posted image.
Big Dave
munchichee 
Copper - Posts: 51
Copper spacespace
Posted: August 25, 2004 at 8:58 AM / IP Logged  
I knew someone was gonna mention the only co. I wasn't even questioning. Go figure. I don't think I could sell enough to become a dealer, but do they have any distributors that you know of? I'd like to put a few in my store.
cornfedmancow 
Member - Posts: 16
Member spacespace
Posted: August 25, 2004 at 9:42 AM / IP Logged