icon

Adding a sub to a factory system

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
Marshallmadman 
Member - Posts: 19
Member spacespace
Posted: August 25, 2004 at 7:10 PM / IP Logged  
    I just bought a 2004 Ford F 150 Regular cab truck. This year they went to a 4 door system, even on the regular cab trucks. I have a foot of space behind both seats and all the way across. I was thinking of going with two 10's in a sealed enclosure (nothing too radical), but I want to retain the factory deck, and speakers. I've never done something like this before (always dealt with complete, real systems), so I'm  wondering what you guys suggest as far as signal processing to jump from the speaker level inputs prior to amplification and crossover. I was thinking an Epicenter would be a good idea to recover any lost bass frequencies. I know that the mids and highs aren't going to be everything I want, but I want the bass to be done right so at least I'm not disappointed with that part. Any help is greatly appreciated.
I'm just a regular guy. I don't know why all the fuss about me....
xavierny25 
Member - Posts: 24
Member spacespace
Posted: August 25, 2004 at 7:53 PM / IP Logged  

I just did an install like this to 2005 chrysler 300 its not all that hard or to do all u will need is a loc(line output converter)i will give u a line at the end of this post for that part.Anyway all u have to do is tap into the nearst speaker intall the loc run ur power & ground wires to where ever u are going to put the amp.u can get ur remote wire from the factory head unit run that to the amp as well.connect all that to the amp.and dont forget to connect the rca s from the loc to the amp and that just about covers it have fun.

Francious70 
Silver - Posts: 629
Silver spacespace
Posted: August 26, 2004 at 12:38 PM / IP Logged  
This is what you need
The hookups are self-explanatory.
Paul
Marshallmadman 
Member spacespace
Posted: August 26, 2004 at 3:54 PM / IP Logged