< Prev Topic Next Topic >
Germanesma 
Member - Posts: 27
Member spacespace
Posted: September 08, 2004 at 12:23 PM / IP Logged  

Hello there!

I am new in this matter.
I want to ask you about Clipping.

How could I know when an amp is or will drive into clipping?

Is it In the gain level?
The sub has distortion?
How to correct it?

Thanks a bunch.

Eggs putines!
pumara_iep 
Member - Posts: 19
Member spacespace
Posted: September 08, 2004 at 1:42 PM / IP Logged  
I am curious about this myself. I have a 4 channel amp that delivers 100watts per channel. My fronts are rated @ 100w RMS and the rear @ 75w RMS. At high volumes, my rear speaker clips everytime the bass hits hard. I have to cross-over bass @ a higher herz to rid of the clipping, but I lose the bass I desire. Does it clip because I'm over powering the rear speakers?
Francious70 
Silver - Posts: 629
Silver spacespace
Posted: September 08, 2004 at 1:52 PM / IP Logged  
Clipping is when an amp is being told to reproduce a sound at a higher level than it can. Example:
I have a 100w amp. I have this amp running at 75% of it's rated power output. If I turn it up higher the amp will start to clip the sound and distortion will be heard. This can ruin both your speakers AND amp.
pumara_iep wrote:
I am curious about this myself. I have a 4 channel amp that delivers 100watts per channel. My fronts are rated @ 100w RMS and the rear @ 75w RMS. At high volumes, my rear speaker clips everytime the bass hits hard. I have to cross-over bass @ a higher herz to rid of the clipping, but I lose the bass I desire. Does it clip because I'm over powering the rear speakers?
Your speakers are probally not clipping. What is happening is you are trying to make them reproduce a frequency that it is not suppoed to reproduce at a higher level than it is supposed to. Example:
A 6.5" speaker will play a 60Hz signal at a lower volume, but once turned up, will heavily distort. Not good for your speaker.
Paul
Germanesma 
Member spacespace