icon

Steel enclosures

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
gus1 
Gold - Posts: 1,013
Gold spacespace
Posted: October 11, 2004 at 11:33 PM / IP Logged  
You could just use 1/8".... and then line that sucker with, oh I dunno.... a couple inches of Concrete. You would get an very dead, albeit very heavy, dense and non resonant sub box. I've always wanted to do a concrete sub box... I think it would be the cat's pajamas.
Gus
Wherever I go, that is where I end up......
Rushman 
Silver - Posts: 380
Silver spacespace
Posted: October 11, 2004 at 11:42 PM / IP Logged  
I told you , first Metal , and now Concrete boxes. This has Jesse James all over it.
99 F-one fitty
Pioneer Premier H/U
Alpine EQ
Kicker 1200 amp
4 Kicker comp 10s
6 kicker SS65.2 components
chevyman26 
Copper - Posts: 227
Copper spacespace
Posted: October 12, 2004 at 12:04 AM / IP Logged  

Well, I'm basically a fabricator/maintenance mechanic at a factory, and am the call-in welder (for the tougher jobs that the other guys don't feel confident enough to do (stainless piping, precision work.) I have access to all kinds of scraps for free, hence the idea.  I thought of the 3/8" because of the flex factor. I bet a Parthenon would have it's work cut out to make that flex. I was thinking about it all day, and I imagine it to be boomy, and nothing else.  Although... we do have some stuff at work... it's called Chockfast Red SG. Resin, Hardener, and aggregate. Denser and stronger than concrete, yet lighter and more workable after drying. We use it for pouring around the footings of machinery and rebuilding the faces of press rolls. Maybe if I line the box with that too....