icon

question about current

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
bmw5002 
Member - Posts: 14
Member spacespace
Posted: November 09, 2004 at 2:39 PM / IP Logged  
Ok im new to this so bear with me. If I hook up my multimeter to my cars battery and measure amperage, will it show the max amperage the battery puts out? I don't really understand how the current draw concept works. Since a battery can supply about 600 amps, whats to keep that from burning out my 45W headlights? Theres no resistor hooked to my headlights is there? Does an electrical accessory only draw as much current as is needed? How does that work? Please help me out in understanding this.
Thanks.
Teken 
Gold - Posts: 1,492
Gold spacespace
Posted: November 09, 2004 at 3:51 PM / IP Logged  
bmw5002 wrote:
If I hook up my multimeter to my cars battery and measure amperage, will it show the max amperage the battery puts out?
If you are measuring static current draw it will be the parasitic current draw while the vehicle is at rest.
If you are measuring the dynamic current draw while the vehicle is operating, then you may not use your DMM.
You will need to use a inductive / halll effect clamp on meter to measure the current safely. As the current draw will exceed the standard 10 ampere range of a DMM.
You are measuring the current that is being consumed by the vehicles electrical system, not what the battery is capable of producing in a instantanous fashion.
ie. CCA (cold cranking amps)
bmw5002 wrote:
I don't really understand how the current draw concept works.
Thats why you are here, to ask questions and learn. I would also suggest that you take a few moments to research the information on line. This will explain alot more than I have time for.
bmw5002 wrote:
Since a battery can supply about 600 amps,
The current rating you are referring to is the CCA. This is what the battery can supply for XXX amount of seconds, based on a relative room temperature of 70-80'F.
bmw5002 wrote: