icon

Autostarters in Chrysler products

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
NismaX 
Copper - Posts: 104
Copper spacespace
Posted: October 15, 2002 at 7:12 PM / IP Logged  

I have been installing autostarters for a few years now and all of a sudden I seem to be having problems with the Chrysler vehicles.  One instance: My customer has a 2001 Dodge Stratus and he has been back 6 or so times with problems with his autostarter.  The First unit installed was a model similar to a Black Widow marketed  through The Right Connections in California.  The first couple of them just went dead (the buttons on the remote didn't work).  If I disconned power and reconnected it it would work fine for a couple of days and then the same thing would happen again.  I swapped out the unit at first then went over the whole installation after the second one.  The third time I installed a Design Tech figuring that these units are having problems with the other electronics in the car.  The Design Tech's starter relay shorted closed.  I removed it and  installed the newer Right Connections model now called Xtreme XR-20.  It did the same thing the first ones did going dead after a few days. Then I put diodes across the door lock relays to prevent spikes.  This did nothing I installed a power filter on the main power lead (which comes right from the batt).  The unit still had problems but still worked to some extent.  The buttons on the remote were scrambled (unlock locked the doors and the trunk realease unlocked the doors the other buttons did nothing) and the car would not start.  Tech support at TRC said to put a diode on the parking light wire to ground.  I have not tried this yet but, I did take out the fuse for the parking lights a while back to try this theory and the vehicle still had problems.  At this point I an willing to try another brand again this time an Omega RS-7K2 and see if that fixes anything.  I did do a little checking into it before hand though.  I called