icon

s10 ex cab box

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
tstrenuous10 
Member - Posts: 7
Member spacespace
Posted: December 13, 2004 at 12:14 AM / IP Logged  

ok im totally new to doing this. never messed with fiberglass or anything. ive read the sites and everything about doing it. i went to home depot and found a couple different things.

fiberglass mat

fiberglass cloth

resin and hardner

bondo glass....i think thats what its called

regular automotive bondo

im just wondering if the clother is the same as fleece....like...its what i lay over my mdf rings....

i know the general procedure of doing this....tape&foil the area i want to do, making sure to overcover the area in case anything happens with the resin overflowing. then after i resin the area and lay down one layer of fiberglass. after this hardenes i can apply another couple of layers and then let it dry. then i can take it out and put on a couple more layers to make it totally firm and strong. then i make the mdf rings....this is where i get confused. i read the site that everyone says is the best and i still cant understand how to make the mdf rings.

what im having the hardest problem with is how to make the rings that are flush. i can kind of understand how to make the rings that have the speaker stick out but not really.

im making an enclosure for an S12L7 in my s10 and im not too worried about how the final product LOOKS right now....more wanting to learn how to lay fiberglass and make a good enclosure so i can move on and make other things. maybe ill go back and make another enclosure but i dont think i will if someone could help me understand how to make an enclosure for these subs. ive only seen one other post with these subs and i couldnt see the pics. can someone explain to me how to rings are made and stuff..