icon

Can I drop JL 10w6v2's in my old enclosur

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
bigwise1 
Member - Posts: 39
Member spacespace
Posted: December 28, 2004 at 8:28 AM / IP Logged  
I have a sealed box made to JL specs housing 2 10w3v2's and was wondering if I could drop 2 10w6v2's into their place or should I go with a bigger enclosure? The two 10w3v2's are being powered by a Zapco ref 500/1 and I plan on getting another one to power each 10w6v2. I looked at JL's website and the space requirements are the same but I'm new to this and I thought maybe adding a little more space would help out. I definitely do not want to go ported because I want my trunk space. Thanks
uthinkuknoaudio 
Silver - Posts: 760
Silver spacespace
Posted: December 28, 2004 at 9:09 AM / IP Logged  
W6v2s generally require a larger air space to fully reproduce the sound that you would want, if you are going for the whole ported thing. I would go and build a bigger enclosure or have one built on specifications given to you by JL (sometimes they are a little off so find a place that deals JL and talk to the box builder because what the measurements JL gives you to make an enclosure and what will really sound good are two different things). There was a post on that previously on the website, check the history. Nice amp by the way - Zapco is some great stuff.
"I don't play games. I play Nakamichi and that for real yo" - Probably some japanese kid said this in the early 80's trying to sell stereo out of his trunk lol.
wheelerdr 
Copper - Posts: 337
Copper spacespace
Posted: December 28, 2004 at 10:14 AM / IP Logged  
the specs for these subs are the same if you are going for a sealed enclosure my loaded enclosures that i sell are the same, i can get them with the w3v2 or the w6v2, comes preloaded from jl
uthinkuknoaudio 
Silver spacespace
Posted: December 28, 2004 at 11:28 AM / IP Logged