icon

Console

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
BlueCC00RT 
Member - Posts: 29
Member spacespace
Posted: February 13, 2005 at 9:55 PM / IP Logged  

Im new to glassing and am trying to build a center console. I've built 1 already but its too boxy What do you guys use to get nice curves? do you just make mdf ribs and strech the fleece over it? or a polyurethane foam? Ive done the foam route and it was a pain to get it square. I thought i would ask some seasoned people that might have some tricks. Also any pics of floor console's would be great so i can get an idea of how ya did it

Bmnicolosi 
Copper - Posts: 173
Copper spacespace
Posted: February 13, 2005 at 10:04 PM / IP Logged  
use mdf to make a frame, use a router to get curves you want, then stretch fleece over mdf frame and there you go, you have curves
BlueCC00RT 
Member spacespace
Posted: February 13, 2005 at 10:18 PM / IP Logged  
I did that... the router doesnt make enough of a curve... im not talking slight curves that a router would do... im thinking more like take a 12 sub ring and cut in half and thats the kinda curve im talking about.. not so drastic though
djdaveoc 
Copper - Posts: 231
Copper spacespace
Posted: February 14, 2005 at 12:05 AM / IP Logged  
You can always cut MDF in a curve using a jigsaw and glue it down using superclue and then stretch the fleece over that.
Console -- posted image. Plan, Research, Do
BlueCC00RT 
Member spacespace
Posted: February 14, 2005 at 12:14 AM / IP Logged  
ok so basically just make a ribcage (lack of better terms) out of mdf and strech the fleece?
djdaveoc 
Copper spacespace
Posted: February 14, 2005 at 1:16 AM / IP Logged  
Yes.  And you staple and glue the fleece to the MDF before you paint the resin onto the fleece.  If you stretched the fleece tightly and secured it very well, the fleece won't move much if at all, even after you let the resin soak in.
Master Asylum 
Silver - Posts: 400
Silver spacespace