icon

1996 Plymouth Grand Voyager Locks

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
1883atlantics 
Member - Posts: 41
Member spacespace
Posted: March 24, 2005 at 8:52 AM / IP Logged  

Hi, newbie here, sorry if this has been covered. I tried searching for info on this problem but all I found was the wiring diagram for my van. It's a 96 Plymouth Grand Voyager SE. It came with power locks, but they don't work now. I've been told it's a bad BCM by the previous owner. The power windows work, as does the rest of the interior lighting, etc. that the BCM normally controls. I checked for voltage at the switch (driver's) and there is some there, but I don't know how much I should be looking for. I've found the Junction Box (which sits on top of the BCM) but I don't know which relay connects the locks to the BCM.  What I want to know is, how can I troubleshoot my system to fix it, OR how can I convert the lock system in there now to a stand-alone system and integrate a car alarm so I can have remote keyless entry? Thanks for any input.

Jeff

thepencil 
Gold - Posts: 1,526
Gold spacespace
Posted: March 24, 2005 at 10:18 AM / IP Logged  
Jeff,
The power locks not working can be a combination of variables. The locks motor itself, BCM, internal relays,...etc.
I would go through the fuse box first to make sure all the fuses are working. Checking the locking motor and relay is the next least painful thing to do. Motor is in the door. The relay will be sitting on the driver side plastic panel. They are a bunch of black square box. If you are uncomfortable with all that. The next best thing is get yourself an actuator(locking and unlocking motor mechanism) and two relays and just put in a new one. Here is a diagram to show you how to wire up the actuator to the alarm unit.
1996 Plymouth Grand Voyager Locks -- posted image.
Be careful whose advice you buy, but be patient with those who supply it.1996 Plymouth Grand Voyager Locks -- posted image.
1883atlantics