the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

150amp Alternator for 2 PG Amps?


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
amb4life 
Copper - Posts: 87
Copper spacespace
Joined: March 23, 2005
Location: United States
Posted: April 07, 2005 at 9:23 PM / IP Logged  

I have posted a couple of topics about which HO alternator to buy? and what cap to get? and should i get another battery?

Well as i read more and more post i see that most people are not even upgrading there altenator's to even 150amps which is what my truck brings from the factory.

let me explain what i have again:

150 amp Delphi Alternator (2002 Chevy Trailblazer)

1 Phoenix Gold Xenon 1200.1

1 Phoenix Gold Xenon 100.4

3 TV's and a Pionner Deck (draw few amps)

When I do the Ohm's Law calculator here on www.the12volt.com @ 1707 watts @ 14 volts = 121.92857 amps (Birth Sheets PG 1200.1 = 1210 watts, PG 100.4 = 497 watts )  I have a cap in the back of my truck with a digital volt meter  and i read between 13.5 and 14.1 volts consistenly so the highest amount of amps i would pull would be 126.44444 and this would be a FULL power which rarely you would have both amps at their max capacity. So i ask 1) How many amp are being pulled by other odds and end things in the car; ie lights, ac, whatever else? 2) Will i notice a real world difference ? thanks again for your comments a suggestions.........

Eclipse 5435
US Amps Merlin MD2 x 2
US Amps Merlin MD42
Kicker Solo X 18"
MB Quart QSD216 x 2
Francious70 
Silver - Posts: 629
Silver spacespace
Joined: July 26, 2004
Location: United States
Posted: April 08, 2005 at 9:22 AM / IP Logged  
I'd say the car alone pulls 50-60% of max rated output of the stock alternator. It's kinda overkill for a car to come from the favtory witha 150 amp alternator when the car only needs 40 to idle with lights, AC, ect.
Paul
racer427 
Silver - Posts: 381
Silver spacespace
Joined: August 04, 2004
Location: United States
Posted: April 08, 2005 at 2:32 PM / IP Logged  

Well, that truck does come with a 150a Alt. Just looked it up. The truck at max draw, with all accessories running will pull roughly 50 to 65 amps so, I am not sure as to why they put such a big ALT in them.

  Chris

Alpine CDA-9833 HU
Diamond Audio M661 Components
MTX Thunder T6.6 Components:rear fill:
Cadence Q400 4 Channel Mains + rears
Thunder 801D Subs
MTX 1004 10's
Dual 4g wire to rear
4g grounds
Francious70 
Silver - Posts: 629
Silver spacespace
Joined: July 26, 2004
Location: United States
Posted: April 08, 2005 at 5:26 PM / IP Logged  
Well damn, that's weird. I wonder if that alt will fit on my 96 Blazer. I know mines a v-6 and the trail blazer is an i-6, but I still wonder. Hmmmmm.
Paul
racer427 
Silver - Posts: 381
Silver spacespace
Joined: August 04, 2004
Location: United States
Posted: April 08, 2005 at 8:14 PM / IP Logged  

Sorry, diiferent part # and different harness. Not to say that with a little fabrication and electrical work, that it wouldn't though. But, also, for what one costs at the part store, u might as well by a beefed up alt anyway. Napa carries that alt for $204.

  Chris

Alpine CDA-9833 HU
Diamond Audio M661 Components
MTX Thunder T6.6 Components:rear fill:
Cadence Q400 4 Channel Mains + rears
Thunder 801D Subs
MTX 1004 10's
Dual 4g wire to rear
4g grounds
amb4life 
Copper - Posts: 87
Copper spacespace
Joined: March 23, 2005
Location: United States
Posted: April 08, 2005 at 10:21 PM / IP Logged  

Every one acts suprised that the factory acuallt put a 150 amp Alt on a truck.......

so what i gather is that 50-60 amps is what the truck uses so i have 90-100 amps free ? correct?

100 amps should be more than enought for the system correct?

Eclipse 5435
US Amps Merlin MD2 x 2
US Amps Merlin MD42
Kicker Solo X 18"
MB Quart QSD216 x 2
sedate 
Silver - Posts: 1,173
Silver spacespace
Joined: July 03, 2004
Location: Colorado, United States
Posted: April 09, 2005 at 9:40 AM / IP Logged  
amb4life:
This is kinda one of those things you just have to hook-up and find out. My inclination is to tell you that if you are *not* particularly aggressive user, you will *probably* find your stock power system adequate.
You are forgetting some pretty big pieces here tho..
1)Amplifier Efficiency - your amps do not just pull their rated power from the birth certificate... thats what they putout... according to PG's website, your amps waste something on the order of 20% of the power they get (which is actually really good)... you need increase your 125amp estimate to a round 150.
2)Your alt puts out different amounts of power depending on engine speed... how fast the pully is spinning the alt... So your PEAK output, prolly around 3000-rpm's or so (wild guess here, but inline with what I've seen from other alternators), is 150-amps. You are *not* going to be making that a stoplight... when your at idle and your alt is making say... 80-amps and you're watching TV and blaring a 1200-watt amp off an otherwise stock power system? Needless to say your battery will die a quick death.
Your "real world difference":
1)Dead batteries -> which quickly become bad batteries
2)Sub-amp cutting out on deep bass-notes.
3)Vicious dash/headlight dimming
I would tell you that if you have all that stuff in your car now and are not having any problems, be done with it. If you are getting ready to install that stuff, don't get anything right away, but prepared for a deep-cycle in the trunk or even a pair of deep-cycles in parallel..(my favorite configuration). I think your alternator would be fine to handle that load.. perhaps with a bit more than stock reserve capacity behind it.
"I'm finished!" - Daniel Plainview
amb4life 
Copper - Posts: 87
Copper spacespace
Joined: March 23, 2005
Location: United States
Posted: April 09, 2005 at 12:59 PM / IP Logged  
That more of the answer i was looking for...... thanks
Eclipse 5435
US Amps Merlin MD2 x 2
US Amps Merlin MD42
Kicker Solo X 18"
MB Quart QSD216 x 2
sedate 
Silver - Posts: 1,173
Silver spacespace
Joined: July 03, 2004
Location: Colorado, United States
Posted: April 09, 2005 at 2:46 PM / IP Logged  
Cheers. =)
So have you already installed it or is this juicy equipment sitting in your garage?
Keep us posted on your power situation, I've had so many power problems I'm always interested to see how other ppl do.
"I'm finished!" - Daniel Plainview
amb4life 
Copper - Posts: 87
Copper spacespace
Joined: March 23, 2005
Location: United States
Posted: April 10, 2005 at 12:44 AM / IP Logged  
sedate-i acually  have everything out of the truck (working on a new box and amp rack). sould have back in by next weekend.and i willkeep you posted.... Thanks for all
Eclipse 5435
US Amps Merlin MD2 x 2
US Amps Merlin MD42
Kicker Solo X 18"
MB Quart QSD216 x 2
Page of 2

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Thursday, December 8, 2022 • Copyright © 1999-2022 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer