icon

Painting Dash Pieces?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
d_arnold 
Copper - Posts: 59
Copper spacespace
Posted: April 30, 2005 at 3:02 PM / IP Logged  
you might be able to find the 2000 grit from an autozone or advance auto but if you can't it's okay you will just be buffing for a little longer, spray bottle clear is softer then professional autobody clear anyway so you should be okay. and definitely wet sand the clear by hand on curves and with a block on anything that is flat. Try to stay away from sanding hard angles, the clear will be thinner in those places.
Sounds like it's coming along good. Take some pictures for us. I'm surprised noone else has comments on the thread. I thought more people painted. I'm glad I could help. I asked a million questions when I was learning to paint, and I'm still learning all the time. A friend of mine works for and autobody shop I bugged him a lot; and I'm on a first name baseis with the owner of our local autobody supply shop. He says there's trouble about everytime I come in cause he know the first think I say is. "So I saw this on a car the other day, how do I do that?", or "well I tried this and it didn't work what did I do wrong". Keep asking questions it's the only way to learn. And if the wife says you can't have an air compressor tell he it will prolly be in your like longer then her!!! LOL jk
AJRXtreme 
Silver - Posts: 302
Silver spacespace
Posted: April 30, 2005 at 8:37 PM / IP Logged  
Haha Thats great! Im 17 Im not married yet, but im really into car audio and like putting all my money i get from work into my car. Here are the pics of the pieces, I will have more when everything is on the dash. I also carpeted some of the big dash pieces in black swirl.
https://img37.echo.cx/my.php?image=p10711934yy.jpg
https://img37.echo.cx/my.php?image=p10711926vp.jpg
https://img37.echo.cx/my.php?image=p10711958ep.jpg
https://img37.echo.cx/my.php?image=p10712024vu.jpg