icon

OEM Wiring

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
bdower1183 
Member - Posts: 4
Member spacespace
Posted: May 19, 2005 at 1:52 PM / IP Logged  

So, I'm still learning electrical stuff and this place is perfect for me! But I had a question about replacement OEM Wiring harnesses. Back in early March I bought a 1989 Volvo 780 coupe, REALLY sweet car but the previous owner had put in a junk CD Player. The car comes with an amp and equalizer that weren’t being used by the CD Player so I wanted to put the tape deck back into the car. Also because I could use my MP3 CD Player though it.

So I pulled the CD Player out and whoever had done the wiring, instead of getting a $5 Crutchfield adapter kit just cut the wires for the connections coming from behind the dash and spliced into that. So being the idiot I am though, I’ll just splice back into it and all will be well. Yeah, well, not so much, like I said, I’m still learning. So to make a long story short, can you buy the connectors that the tape deck would plug into so I can just splice that back together and click in the connectors? And if so, is that something I’d have to go to the dealer for or would a regular place have those.

I hope my question makes sense, any light anyone can shed on this would be most appreciated as I have an hour and 20 minute commute with no radio, at all.

There are 3 things I never discuss, Politics, Religion and the Great Pumpkin
Francious70 
Silver - Posts: 629
Silver spacespace
Posted: May 19, 2005 at 2:01 PM / IP Logged  
Check here. I think you car may be listed.
https://www.the12volt.com/installbay/vehicles.asp
Paul
bdower1183 
Member spacespace
Posted: May 19, 2005 at 2:09 PM / IP Logged  

Thanks, that'll help, I had hoped I could buy the original plug somewhere to wire back in so everything clicked in instead, it looks a lot like this;

OEM Wiring -- posted image.

itmdtr 
Copper - Posts: 131
Copper spacespace
Posted: May 20, 2005 at 6:00 AM / IP Logged