the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

Are all noise filters created equal?


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
racer427 
Silver - Posts: 381
Silver spacespace
Joined: August 04, 2004
Location: United States
Posted: May 27, 2005 at 11:35 AM / IP Logged  

Are you using high quality RCA's?

One thing that I know about Pioneer units is that they internaly ground their preamp outputs and that has been an issue with their units for many years. The last 2 Pioneer decks that I had both had noise issues. One way that I got rid of the noise was to reground the RCA's near the amps. That worked for the 7600 unit that I had. The 8600 that I had also had noise issues and I never delt with it, I just returned it and went with Alpine and never had an issue after.

Chris

Alpine CDA-9833 HU
Diamond Audio M661 Components
MTX Thunder T6.6 Components:rear fill:
Cadence Q400 4 Channel Mains + rears
Thunder 801D Subs
MTX 1004 10's
Dual 4g wire to rear
4g grounds
DYohn 
Moderator - Posts: 10,740
Moderator spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: April 22, 2003
Location: Arizona, United States
Posted: May 27, 2005 at 11:40 AM / IP Logged  

Sounds like you definately have a HU issue.  Pioneers are notorious for poor internal ground plane quality and often the only way to fix this is by swapping head units.  I assume yours is under warranty?

Since you've already tried about everything you can with your amps, try a dedicated ground for the HU that is not part of the car's wiring system.  Try grounding the outer ring of the RCA cables.  Like haemphyst said, don't waste your time with noise filters, they do nothing but mask part of a problem and degrade your sound quality.

If the above does nothing to help with your problem, take the head unit back and swap it for another one.

Support the12volt.com
danieljaluise 
Copper - Posts: 125
Copper spacespace
Joined: January 19, 2003
Location: United States
Posted: May 27, 2005 at 12:34 PM / IP Logged  
Ha, it never even crossed my mind to try and invoke the warranty on this thing. I think that is what I'll do if grounding the RCAs doesnt work.
Page of 2

Sorry, you can NOT post a reply.
This topic is closed.

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Sunday, September 25, 2022 • Copyright © 1999-2022 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer