icon

Resin & backing surface Question

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
dornstac 
Member - Posts: 20
Member spacespace
Posted: July 26, 2005 at 6:17 AM / IP Logged  

Ok, I almost have all of the materials ready to start my first enclosure here, but I have a couple questions.

Does anyone mix the resin with anything to make it harden? or harden faster? I've never worked with it before.

Also, I have used a layer of scotch tape and then a second layer of blue painters tape to use as a backing for the firberglass, however this was a very tedious job and it took quite a while, it also gets all wrinkled in all of the curves so I was thinking of using tin foil as I have read that that's what some people do, I just have a hard time thinking that I will be able to stick resin & fiberglass mat to a WD40 sprayed piece of tin foil. I also have to stick fiberglass on a hanging surface and am scared of that task.

about bubbles.............when using a roller to get the bubbles out are you guys just referring to a conventional paint roller?

Any help is much appreicated in this predicament 

-Respect
realitycheck 
Silver - Posts: 751
Silver spacespace
Posted: July 26, 2005 at 8:44 AM / IP Logged  
Hey there dornstack, first question when you buy your resin it should come with a small tube of liquid hardener. It will give you directions on how much hardener to mix in with the resin to make it harden. Be ready though cause once it starts it going to harden pretty quickly
If you could explain a little more of what your trying to do on your second question we might could help a little better.