icon

substained alternator abuse

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
maglin 
Copper - Posts: 206
Copper spacespace
Posted: August 12, 2005 at 11:54 AM / IP Logged  
hey now. new battery, new alt, new cap. = teh allowed room for a new system. most times people do it bass ackwards. new system, alt goes, new alt. battery goes, new battery. lol.
it just seems to me, and i'm not an expert on it, but seems to be at least, that a cap is another thing that your car has to charge up. While the bass is hitting, your electrical system screams "NOT ME!", while its not hitting, the cap is screaming for a charge for teh next time the bass hits (half seconds later). so. adding a cap isn't like adding a bandaid, it seems, but a second wound, and only one of which you can keep pressure on at a time. lol. you're still going to die, even tho it seems like you're trying to save your own life.
... then again. i could be totally foobared in teh head, and totally off base here. lol.
good alt, good battery. just remember, nothing is perpetual. you put a bigger alt in the car, and make demands of it, its going to be demanding of your engine, and start to tax on other things too.
~~Vinn
6061dyson 
Member - Posts: 33
Member spacespace
Posted: August 12, 2005 at 7:58 PM / IP Logged  
Sounds right to me. Just gotta avoid those "ah f*** " moments your stuck on a the side of bypass in the rain lol with your electrics anchoring you to the spot.
Blowntweeters 
Silver - Posts: 650
Silver spacespace
Posted: August 12, 2005 at 9:03 PM / IP Logged  
boulderguy wrote:

Blowntweeters wrote:
boulderguy let me ask you this do you have a cap in your car and how can a cap magicly charge faster than a battery 
Yup, I've got a cap - keeps my headlights from going into seizures.  Probably doesn't help the sound.  Lots of people think they will & are ultimately disappointed.  Here's what they can do -