icon

Advice on optimizing a biamped system

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
2001Sport 
Member - Posts: 2
Member spacespace
Posted: August 20, 2005 at 2:36 AM / IP Logged  

Hello!  I am a noob to this site, and am getting ready to do a relatively large install.  In reading through posts I have been completely impressed with the level of knowledge on this site.  Before I get started on the install, I would like to hear some opinions about this system and how you would change/optimize what I'm trying to do for this biamped system in a 2001 Jeep Cherokee. 

Over the years, I've picked up gear here and there, and I am looking to build a clean, good-sounding system that can rock when I want it to.  It's not going to be top audiophile quality, but I think will sound pretty good.  I listen to just about everything, so huge bass and SPL levels are not my goal.  For speaker placement, I have a set of Q-forms I plan on using, with some beefing up increase their stiffness.  I would have built my own, but I'm horrible with fiberglass.  The rears will go in the soundbar.  As for the hardware, my main components are:

Alpine CDA-7845 head unit

Alpine 12 disc changer

Infinity Kappa 60.5 components (front)

Infinity Kappa 52.5 drivers (rear)
Infinity Perfect 10 sub (sealed box)

Sony XEC-1000 Active Crossover

(3 sets of RCA inputs, and outputs for the sub, front high and mid, and rear high and mid)
 (18db/octave crossover for the sub, 12db/octave for the rest)

Alpine V12 MRV-T500 2 channel amp (bridged at 4 ohms for the sub)

Alpine V12 MRV-T500 2 channel amp (running front 6.5" component woofers)
RF Punch 100 2 channel amp (running front tweeters)
Alpine V12 MRV-F250 4 channel amp (running rear 5.25" speakers)

My immediate questions:

With biamping, I'm not planning on using the Infinity passive crossovers on the components at all, just the Sony XEC-1000.  Should I use the crossovers on the amps in addition to the active crossover to get a greater slope?