icon

Multi-Amp setup

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
nokonaplaya 
Member - Posts: 4
Member spacespace
Posted: September 13, 2005 at 12:02 PM / IP Logged  

Im new to this site.  Ive been reading alot of the posts just trying to gain more knowledge as I can tell there are alot of people with a great deal of knowledge on this site.  Im going to be installing a stereo in my blazer which will include 3 sub-amps.  The amps will be 2 MTX1501D powering 1 15" RFL and 1 MTX801D which will be powering 2 12" MTX 9500s. 

What is the best way to go about this?  I have basic knowledge of what im doing but I am not sure what the best way to begin this install is.  I want the 12s to be used during daily driving while the RFL will be there for days in which i need deep loud bass. 

Please Help!

Nokonaplaya
~2001 Blazer Xtreme~
Nokonaplaya@hotmail.com
DYohn 
Moderator - Posts: 10,741
Moderator spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: September 13, 2005 at 2:21 PM / IP Logged  
I suggest adding simple toggle switches to the remote on lead wires for the amps.  That way you can turn on or off which ever one you want at any time.  Welcome to the site.
Support the12volt.com
stevdart 
Platinum - Posts: 5,816
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Posted: September 13, 2005 at 9:26 PM / IP Logged  

ditto DYohn's suggestion.  And I'll add this:

• The remote lead carries less than 1/2 ampere, so the simplest, cheapest ON-OFF toggle switches will work.