the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

I have eq problems


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
bigboi11 
Copper - Posts: 83
Copper spacespace
Joined: December 07, 2004
Posted: October 28, 2005 at 8:52 AM / IP Logged  
I got a kenwood kgc-4032 eq to go with my pioneer deh 4600.  I hooked it up and it sounds bad  my sound actually got lower when it is on and when it is off and I now have a groundloop.  The lights on the eq stay in the red on high or low like I am blasting the radio when I''m only on like 20.  I used the same ground I used for my HU.  Any help would be appreciated.  I had it on .3V and it sounded extremely bad then I switched it to 5V and it got better, but it is still bad.
DYohn 
Moderator - Posts: 10,735
Moderator spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: April 22, 2003
Location: Arizona, United States
Posted: October 28, 2005 at 10:26 AM / IP Logged  
The answer is simple: remove it.  Most systems don't need an EQ and many people make their sound worse by trying to add them.  (Actually to address your problem, it sounds like a level mismatch and a bad ground.  But really, remove it.)
Support the12volt.com
bigboi11 
Copper - Posts: 83
Copper spacespace
Joined: December 07, 2004
Posted: October 28, 2005 at 10:40 AM / IP Logged  
So what should I do get a signal processer instead because it really did a good job of bringing the sound out but it had alot of negatives that came with it also.
DYohn 
Moderator - Posts: 10,735
Moderator spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: April 22, 2003
Location: Arizona, United States
Posted: October 28, 2005 at 11:42 AM / IP Logged  
Does it have a gain or input sensitivity control?  First try setting that properly .  If it doesn't have one, get rid of it.  If you want a good EQ, there are several threads on the forum discussing these.  I bet if you search for "EQ" you will find many suggestions.  Cheers.
Support the12volt.com

Sorry, you can NOT post a reply.
This topic is closed.

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Saturday, April 10, 2021 • Copyright © 1999-2021 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer