icon

weird wiring question

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
mr-nockers 
Member - Posts: 5
Member spacespace
Posted: November 08, 2005 at 10:24 PM / IP Logged  

first off im a newbie and want to say hi.I have a 94 gmc truck that i put a remote starter in. I have the door locks on channel 1 and was wondering if i could use channel 2 wich is used for a trunk release to operate my electric fuel pump instead since a dont have a trunk anyways.  That way i can turn off my fuel pump so my truck cant be stolen.  My remote starter is a valet model 552t, the manual says the wire is a (-)200 Ma. or cant this channel be used this way?? thanks .

menace2sobriety 
Silver - Posts: 394
Silver spacespace
Posted: November 08, 2005 at 11:06 PM / IP Logged  

why dont you just make it cut off the coil or coil pack?

mr-nockers 
Member spacespace
Posted: November 08, 2005 at 11:56 PM / IP Logged  

Yeah i could do  that  too , Im reading up on it a little more and think ive got it figured out. I think i need to change my setting from default validity to latched output, meaning the negative signal continues until i press the button again to turn it off . and convert the (-) output to a  (+) output  for  the relay.

jshhhs 
Member - Posts: 14
Member spacespace
Posted: November 09, 2005 at 12:11 AM / IP Logged  
Be sure to include a relay when you are using your triggers for other components. Some stuff needs a specific voltage-be careful. In general if you can change from - to + trigger on the channel then its od to energize any component with that channel as long as the polarity is correct. You are on the right track and you will soon realize how much fun alarms can be-you can make em do anything wiht the right relays etc. I have a motorized amp rack and a trunk pop/lift hooked to my rem. start output. Its on a timer and if I hit the option on the remote before i start the car the trunk pops and the amps fold down. Fun stuff. Ciao. Youll get it.
What the feezy?