icon

Overpowering a subwoofer?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
mukrainetz 
Member - Posts: 17
Member spacespace
Posted: March 13, 2006 at 2:58 PM / IP Logged  

I have a pair of 12" subs which run at 1000watts max  (500watts rms) and the amp is 2000watts max (350 watts rms x 2 and 600 watts rms bridged.)

From what I understand its better to over power the subs (600w bridged) than underpower them (350w)

Bridging the two amps powers them at 600w rms when their max is 500w each. Will this be a problem, am I going to fry them or do I not run the bass boost at full? Im new at audio installation, I have always done my work on engine and body mods so any help would be much appreciated.

h2oskierfl 
Copper - Posts: 87
Copper spacespace
Posted: March 13, 2006 at 3:50 PM / IP Logged  
Are the subs single or dual voice coil? How are you running them? Parallel or series? Is the amp 2 ohm stable? If they are single voice coil, you would be better off running them one on each channel. That way they would get 350 each. If you bridge them, you will end up with either a 2 or 8 ohm load (assuming they are 4 ohm subs) depending on how you wire them. Either way you will not see a benefit.
mukrainetz 
Member spacespace
Posted: March 13, 2006 at 4:08 PM / IP Logged  

Sorry for the lack of information:

The subs are dual voice coil 4 ohm, and according to the diagrams posted on this site the coils are wired in series and the subs wired in parallel for a 4ohm load. The amp is 2ohm stable.

I didnt have the dough (or space) to buy two separate amps but relied on information saying I could run both subs off the same amp bridged and it would be fine.

tcss 
Silver - Posts: 1,623
Silver spacespace
Posted: March 13, 2006 at 4:19 PM / IP Logged  
That's strange that your amp puts out less total power bridged than in two channel mode. Are you sure you are reading the specs correctly? What brand and model is it?
There is no such thing as free installation!
mukrainetz