icon

VSS wire working intermittently on Supra

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
alpine0000 
Copper - Posts: 160
Copper spacespace
Posted: April 06, 2006 at 4:09 AM / IP Logged  

1994 Toyota Supra (the non-turbo version) with a pioneer AVIC-D1 recently installed. (did the lockout bypass moving the unused cellphone mute wire over to the empty spot next to the ground on the harness)

So, i recently installed the AVIC-D1 for  a buddy (i was an installer for about 5 years, but quit a few years ago for a new career) and everything worked perfectly after the install. i tested it out, test drove it, and the nav worked fine.

the next day he calls me saying that sometimes he will take off from a stop light and the arrow wont move. he says it sometimes will still be sitting at an intersection he was at 5+ minutes ago, meanwhile he is miles down the road. then all of the sudden it will jump and catch up with him. well, a week went by but i ididnt get around to fixing it right away, but by the time i did (today) the arrow stopped moving with the car totally. the arrow spins as you turn(gyroscope), but doesnt move forward as you drive(vss).

so today, i take it apart to troubleshoot. i hooked up the meter to the vss and drove it around a bit. the VSS is sending out voltage intermittantly (spelling?). (i tapped into it down in the passenger kick at the ECU when installing the HU)

so, i hooked up the fluke meter and its around 7 volts AC, fluctuating up and down as we drive. then sometimes it will just stop and go down to less than 1 volt as we are driving. so i redid the connection and things seemed to be ok. we test drove it a few times, it worked. perfectly (again, just like the first time... blah)