the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

wiring 2 ohm subs


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
Ravendarat 
Platinum - Posts: 2,806
Platinum spacespace
Joined: February 23, 2004
Location: Canada
Posted: June 11, 2006 at 1:57 PM / IP Logged  

twiztid8323 wrote:
< language=>postamble(); yeah im the noob? you cant even answer a simple question buddy. I NEVER SAID I WANT A 4 OHM SUB. i said im getting two 2ohm subs can i wire each one to 4 ohms and wire that to 1 channel of my 2 channel amp.  i didnt ask what should i get a 4 ohm or a 2ohm, i know 4 ohms are easier.  2 ohms are better especially when i get rid of the lanzar amp and get a legit one. thanks for nothin NEWB.

No need to get snappy, especially when you have false information my friend. Why do you say 2 ohms are better. Thats possibly the most broad statement I have ever heard in my life. Do you know what happens when you load an amp down. Your THD will go up, thats your distortion rating. If you were smart you would get your subs as a dual 4 ohm because you can achieve a total load of 4 ohms bridged. That way when you get a "more legit" amp later on you can get a large 2 channel amp and run it at a 4 ohm bridged load to keep your THD lower than what you would achieve with a D-Class mono block.

Now the other side of that coin is that the higher distortion level of a D-Class mono block is probally gonna be hard to hear when using entry level subs like the ones you chose. So in that instance you could use your dual 2 ohm subs to achieve a total load of 2 ohms on a mono block amp and your advantage there is that a D-Class amp is more efficent.

So you see there are pluses and minuses to both ways but Option 1 makes more sense in your case as you already have a 2 channel and this option lets you run your amp in the most effiecent way for now and still leads you with a good option for down the road. Also your excuse about not wanting to "Spike your subs" (which is an incorrect term to start with) doesnt make any sense using the most basic of math. The subs handle 1800 watts max power EACH and the amp puts out 2000 watts max TOTAL so that means that going by the BS stats the companies give you you have 3600 watts of total power handling and only 2000 watts of actual power. Mabye instead of flying off the handle next time you should pay attention and you might learn something and get some advice that will help you out in the end.

double-secret reverse-osmosis speaker-cone-induced high-level interference distortion, Its a killer
DYohn 
Moderator - Posts: 10,739
Moderator spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: April 22, 2003
Location: Arizona, United States
Posted: June 11, 2006 at 2:14 PM / IP Logged  
twiztid8323, watch the attitude.  You are getting good advice; if you don't want to hear it then don't bother posting.  We don't need more stock boys around here.
Support the12volt.com
twiztid8323 
Member - Posts: 9
Member spacespace
Joined: June 06, 2006
Posted: June 11, 2006 at 4:33 PM / IP Logged  

Ty for still not answering my question. Again you said..There is no way to get a final 4 ohm load with 2 DVC 2 ohm subs. WE ARE ONLY TRYING TO HELP YOU!!

YOU MUST BE THE NEWB BECAUSE I KNOW YOU CAN WIRE a 2ohm sub to 4ohm,  and put it on 1 channel, i was just double checking with yall but thats the last time i do that . haha

Also im not going to get called a newb by some newb himself.

You said that a 4ohm sub would be better? HOW is it better when i said i can wire a 2ohm sub to 4ohm, ITS THE SAME THING NEWB!! (Who doesn't agree with me on that?)

twiztid8323 
Member - Posts: 9
Member spacespace
Joined: June 06, 2006
Posted: June 11, 2006 at 4:37 PM / IP Logged  
yes i know that, but it can also take alot more power , i know the sound quality wouldnt be any better. but if i buy the right amp for the 2ohm sub it would hit harder than  4ohm. Im sick of ppl not reading my full post and understanding it.  I never said that a 2ohm sub would hit harder on the amp that i own now.  i said im buying them because im going to upgrade on a better amp. get cha facts stright END OF DISSCUSSION
Ravendarat 
Platinum - Posts: 2,806
Platinum spacespace
Joined: February 23, 2004
Location: Canada
Posted: June 11, 2006 at 6:17 PM / IP Logged  

twiztid8323 wrote:
< language=>postamble(); yes i know that, but it can also take alot more power , i know the sound quality wouldnt be any better. but if i buy the right amp for the 2ohm sub it would hit harder than  4ohm. Im sick of ppl not reading my full post and understanding it.  I never said that a 2ohm sub would hit harder on the amp that i own now.  i said im buying them because im going to upgrade on a better amp. get cha facts stright END OF DISSCUSSION

You need to start using the quote button so I can figure out what the hell you are replying to. Now on to the inacuracies of your latest offering. A 2 ohm sub on a properly matched amp will not hit any harder than a 4 ohm sub on a properly matched amp,so that argument is incorrect and not worth pursuing. And the Sound quality WOULD be better on the 4 ohm driver than the 2 ohm in most instances, whether you can hear the difference or not is another story. I read your full post and understood the full post, but being that you were WRONG in what you said I tried to point you in the right direction.

double-secret reverse-osmosis speaker-cone-induced high-level interference distortion, Its a killer
Ravendarat 
Platinum - Posts: 2,806
Platinum spacespace
Joined: February 23, 2004
Location: Canada
Posted: June 11, 2006 at 6:24 PM / IP Logged  

Ok, I have a question for you that I just want  a strait answer to with no BS. Is the box you are going to use one were the subs have their own chamber or will they be in a shared air space box. Also is it a sealed or ported set up. This is going somewhere but I need an answer to this first before I can go any further

double-secret reverse-osmosis speaker-cone-induced high-level interference distortion, Its a killer
twiztid8323 
Member - Posts: 9
Member spacespace
Joined: June 06, 2006
Posted: June 12, 2006 at 1:32 AM / IP Logged  

"A 2 ohm sub on a properly matched amp will not hit any harder than a 4 ohm sub on a properly matched amp" 

Again, i never said that it wouldn't. i said that a 2ohm sub would bump harder set up as 2ohm not 4ohm , 2ohm takes more watts from the amp if the amp were 2ohm stable and set up as 2ohm, TY COME AGAIN. (for ppl that cant understand that)... if you have an AMP. and your  hooking your subs up to 2ohms you will get more rms out of your amp. than if you wired it to 4ohm!! but the sound quality would be less wiring it to 2ohm, THEN AGAIN WHO CARES ABOUT SOUND QUALITY WHEN YOUR CAR IS SHAKING.

im getting booted off this form because morons try to prove ppl wrong on everything people post. And i cant try to prove them wrong back? I never used bad language.  Some kiddy called me a newb. and i cannot call him a newb back? lmao the moderator said stop calling him a newb or your account will be blocked.   Thats some funny FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFloving doodie dude.. love THIS FORM , I STILL HAVENT GOTTEN MY QUESTION ANSWERD!!!!! ITS BEEN 4-5 DAYS WITH MORE THAN 10 POSTS. NEWBS!!!!!!!

my box is made for the specs  and its sealed .  if your trying to tell me that it will blow apart? think again 1inch thick with steel drywall screws. i didnt come to this post to be asked questions. i was the one asking the question , and still no one could answer it... whats the point of this post then????? cancel it... and kick me off this grimmy ass form because i said newb lmao go cry to mother  maybee she will buy you some more brandname doodie.

" If you have more than 1000 bux into your system and your car still doesnt shake you got punked "

Steven Kephart 
Platinum - Posts: 1,737
Platinum spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: November 06, 2003
Location: Oregon, United States
Posted: June 12, 2006 at 3:42 AM / IP Logged  

Hmmm, I have quite a bit more than 1000 bux into my system and my car doesn't shake.  I guess I was punked. wiring 2 ohm subs - Page 2 -- posted image.

The only question I saw of yours that didn't get directly answered was whether you could run two subs on one channel of your amp.  The answer is yes as long as the impedance isn't too low.  Someone did say you could run a dual voice coil sub on one channel which is the same thing, and I don't get why you didn't see the connection to your question.  But at least now your question was directly answered.

aznboi3644 
Gold - Posts: 2,600
Gold spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: May 01, 2006
Location: United States
Posted: June 12, 2006 at 9:01 AM / IP Logged  
twiztid8323 wrote:

        Im thinking about buying these power acoustik subs : http://www.caraudiodeals.com/product_info.php?cPath=21_24&products_id=307

They are Dual 2 Ohm voice coil.

I own this amp :    http://www.caraudiodeals.com/product_info.php?cPath=28_30&products_id=368

My question is does my amp handle 2ohm? Ive hurd it will only handle 4ohm. I know that i can wire a single dual 2 ohm voice coil sub to 4ohm. Can i hook that one sub up to 1 channel of my 2 channel amp? Or does it have to be bridged?

Also does wiring a 2ohm sub to 4ohm take rms handling power away?

If anyone can help me out with this post it would be great.

Thankyou

Yes the amp can handle a 2 ohm load to each channel. Yes it will handle a 4 ohm load to each channel and if bridged.
Wiring a DVC 2 ohm sub to 4 ohms does not take "rms handling power" away. Most 2 channel amps put out full power when bridged at 4 ohms.
So again...your question is answered strait up.
We are just saying that with two DVC 4 ohms subs you'll get the most outta that amp.
Goodbye.
Ravendarat 
Platinum - Posts: 2,806
Platinum spacespace
Joined: February 23, 2004
Location: Canada
Posted: June 12, 2006 at 7:55 PM / IP Logged  
twiztid8323 wrote:

< language=>postamble(); "A 2 ohm sub on a properly matched amp will not hit any harder than a 4 ohm sub on a properly matched amp" 

Again, i never said that it wouldn't. i said that a 2ohm sub would bump harder set up as 2ohm not 4ohm , 2ohm takes more watts from the amp if the amp were 2ohm stable and set up as 2ohm, TY COME AGAIN. (for ppl that cant understand that)... if you have an AMP. and your  hooking your subs up to 2ohms you will get more rms out of your amp. than if you wired it to 4ohm!! but the sound quality would be less wiring it to 2ohm, THEN AGAIN WHO CARES ABOUT SOUND QUALITY WHEN YOUR CAR IS SHAKING.

im getting booted off this form because morons try to prove ppl wrong on everything people post. And i cant try to prove them wrong back? I never used bad language.  Some kiddy called me a newb. and i cannot call him a newb back? lmao the moderator said stop calling him a newb or your account will be blocked.   Thats some funny FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFloving doodie dude.. love THIS FORM , I STILL HAVENT GOTTEN MY QUESTION ANSWERD!!!!! ITS BEEN 4-5 DAYS WITH MORE THAN 10 POSTS. NEWBS!!!!!!!

my box is made for the specs  and its sealed .  if your trying to tell me that it will blow apart? think again 1inch thick with steel drywall screws. i didnt come to this post to be asked questions. i was the one asking the question , and still no one could answer it... whats the point of this post then????? cancel it... and kick me off this grimmy ass form because i said newb lmao go cry to mother  maybee she will buy you some more brandname doodie.

" If you have more than 1000 bux into your system and your car still doesnt shake you got punked "

Ok, I obviously misunderstood what you said about the 2 ohm and 4 ohm, my bad. The reason why I asked about the box isnt cause its gonna blow apart, its cause I had a concern about your set up. BTW You still didnt answer my question, I asked if its ported or sealed, and you answered that, but I also asked if its gonna be chambered. The reason why is because if you are going to run subs in stereo off that amp, which is what it sounds like with the way you talked before, and the box had shared air space you might have an issue. Thats the only reason why I asked, but hey what the hell do I know. Have fun

double-secret reverse-osmosis speaker-cone-induced high-level interference distortion, Its a killer
Page of 3

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Thursday, August 5, 2021 • Copyright © 1999-2021 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer