icon

getting rid of pats

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
djlayz 
Copper - Posts: 104
Copper spacespace
Posted: June 20, 2006 at 10:21 AM / IP Logged  
does anyone know how to unistall pats in my 99 windstar but still being able to start?
joe_1 
Silver - Posts: 286
Silver spacespace
Posted: June 20, 2006 at 11:18 AM / IP Logged  
just a question why do you need to remove it? what is the problem
i am also a technician so if you have any engine trouble let me know, and i will do my best to help.
djlayz 
Copper spacespace
Posted: June 20, 2006 at 12:39 PM / IP Logged  
i only have one key. and i tired to get a second one programmed but it didnt work because something is wrong with the computer and they want like 80$ to do a diagnostics. so i just figured it would be cheaper to remove the pats
bdl666 
Silver - Posts: 330
Silver spacespace
Posted: June 20, 2006 at 1:00 PM / IP Logged  

There is a very easy way of doing it.

Just take the key you have now and remove the transponder from it.  Place the transponder on the side of the ignition cylinder  and try to start the car (you will have to play with the location). When you find a spot that works glue the transponder in place using some sort of epoxy and then tape over it.

Now you have a car that uses regular keys and you will never have to pay a dealer for a coded key ever again.

ieSpell rocks.
joe_1 
Silver - Posts: 286
Silver spacespace
Posted: June 20, 2006 at 1:17 PM / IP Logged  
sounds like a good idea, and its the easy way.
i am also a technician so if you have any engine trouble let me know, and i will do my best to help.
djlayz 
Copper spacespace
Posted: June 20, 2006 at 3:04 PM / IP Logged  
how do you take the transponder out? i know were it is but how do you open it?
bdl666 
Silver - Posts: 330
Silver spacespace
Posted: June 20, 2006 at 5:10 PM / IP Logged