the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

05 tiburon viper 791xv stalls w/ac on


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
98tib 
Member - Posts: 5
Member spacespace
Joined: July 17, 2006
Location: United States
Posted: July 21, 2006 at 3:40 PM / IP Logged  

I have a 2005 5spd Hyundai tiburon with a viper 791 xv remote start/alarm installed and when i leave the ac on for when i start it the next morning it runs for 10 - 15 seconds then shuts off then restarts for another 10 - 15 seconds. it does this 3 times then totally shuts its self off. if the ac is not turned on it runs for 24 minutes no problem. i have switched it from reading a tach signal to reading volts and that did not seem to help. anybody have any clues as to what causing it and how to fix it?

thanks for all your help in advance

Jason

Chris Luongo 
Platinum - Posts: 3,746
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Joined: May 21, 2002
Location: Massachusetts, United States
Posted: July 21, 2006 at 4:45 PM / IP Logged  
I've seen that before on Hyundais. When the AC is turned on, the voltage level does not rise enough for the remote starter to "see" that the car has started.
The first thing to try is to change the voltage threshold in the programming menu.
If that does not work reliably, a better solution would be to connect the tach wire, and program the unit for tach sensing.
98tib 
Member - Posts: 5
Member spacespace
Joined: July 17, 2006
Location: United States
Posted: July 21, 2006 at 5:03 PM / IP Logged  
see but what i dont understand is that why would it be only if the ac is on? if the ac is off it works fine. even if it didn't detect the ac it should still stay running just as it does when the ac is turned off. kinda sounds backwards to me, i would think that if the car didn't have the ac on it wouldn't detect voltage, if anything voltage is higher than without the ac being on.
JWorm 
Platinum - Posts: 2,208
Platinum spacespace
Joined: December 11, 2002
Location: New Hampshire, United States
Posted: July 21, 2006 at 5:50 PM / IP Logged  
These aren't exact numbers, but hopefully it makes what Chris is trying to say easier to understand.
With AC off.
Car off....battery is 12.6 volts
Start car, voltage goes up to 14.0 volts. Remote starter sees a big jump in voltage, and the car stays running.
With AC on.
Car off....battery is 12.6 volts
Start car, voltage goes up to 13.2 volts. Remote starter doesn't see a big jump in voltage, and the car shuts off.
MrSuperStar 
Member - Posts: 33
Member spacespace
Joined: November 04, 2002
Location: United States
Posted: July 21, 2006 at 9:44 PM / IP Logged  
Best thing to do is read the manual to find out how to do shutdown diagnostic. That will tell you exactly why the remote start is shutting down.
There should be two power wires in your ignition harness, did you use both? If you only used one you may be over loading the circuit.
Also, the rpms will vary with the AC on. Try programing the tach with the AC on to see what happens.
98tib 
Member - Posts: 5
Member spacespace
Joined: July 17, 2006
Location: United States
Posted: July 22, 2006 at 6:13 AM / IP Logged  

JWorm wrote:
These aren't exact numbers, but hopefully it makes what Chris is trying to say easier to understand.
With AC off.
Car off....battery is 12.6 volts
Start car, voltage goes up to 14.0 volts. Remote starter sees a big jump in voltage, and the car stays running.
With AC on.
Car off....battery is 12.6 volts
Start car, voltage goes up to 13.2 volts. Remote starter doesn't see a big jump in voltage, and the car shuts off.

gottcha, makes perfect sense.

98tib 
Member - Posts: 5
Member spacespace
Joined: July 17, 2006
Location: United States
Posted: July 22, 2006 at 6:19 AM / IP Logged  

MrSuperStar wrote:
Best thing to do is read the manual to find out how to do shutdown diagnostic. That will tell you exactly why the remote start is shutting down.
There should be two power wires in your ignition harness, did you use both? If you only used one you may be over loading the circuit.
Also, the rpms will vary with the AC on. Try programing the tach with the AC on to see what happens.

definately worth a try.

thanks guys for all the help

98tib 
Member - Posts: 5
Member spacespace
Joined: July 17, 2006
Location: United States
Posted: July 24, 2006 at 6:57 AM / IP Logged  
i switched back to a tach reading but this time set it with the ac on and all seems to work well. thanks again for the advice

Sorry, you can NOT post a reply.
This topic is closed.

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Monday, January 24, 2022 • Copyright © 1999-2022 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer