the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

Running wires inside and input terminal?

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
digdug18 
Member - Posts: 23
Member spacespace
Posted: September 25, 2006 at 7:03 PM / IP Logged  

I've never built a box before, I'm planning on doing it next weekend though. The part I dont understand is how to run wires inside the sub box and how to connect to the box. Are you soldering wires to the sub? what gauge are you using? how do you maintain a airtight seal around the wires going into the box, or do you use banana plugs or something like that to seal the box? Also do you fill the box with poly fill or something similar? I know alot of questions, but they werent covered in the FAQs or the building a fiberglass box sticky. and yes I tried searching. Pictures would be nice as well, but not a nessecity, yeah my spelling sucks.

Andrew

realgossamer 
Member - Posts: 21
Member spacespace
Posted: September 26, 2006 at 10:08 AM / IP Logged  
You could get something like this:
ebay
and then seal around the edges of the cup with the same stuff you used to seal the inside of the box.
bryantobando 
Copper - Posts: 64
Copper spacespace
Posted: September 26, 2006 at 10:53 AM / IP Logged  
What i do to my boxes is simple. Just make a hole with a drill bit as big enough for the wires to fit through snug. Then cover the hole in and out of the box with the silicone used to seal the edges inside the box. this is good if the box is for you because its fast and simple. if you ever want longer wire for some reason, the con of this is that you have to open up your box to get to the terminals of the speaker. I wouldn't recommend doing this if you are doing a box for someone, it doesnt look professional. but it does the job. if
stevdart 
Platinum - Posts: 5,816