Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
jzlitao 
Member - Posts: 14
Member spacespace
Posted: November 01, 2006 at 11:54 AM / IP Logged  
Hi everyone,
I am a newbie here.
I want to install a Viper 791xv remote start(ordered from Amazon last night) on my 2004 Camry LE v4 with factory keyless entry. I did a lots of reading in this forum and was kind of confused.
Can anyone tell me whether I need a universial bypass module(555U or 556?) or not. I can start my car with a metal key(with a serial number tag) which was given to me by dealer for backup and there is no security alarm status LED on the front panel either. I can trigger the siren alarm by pressing Panic button on the back of the remote, but can not get alarm by kicking my car. I am not sure whether it has security system(VIP 3200?) or not. Do I need get other module(BYPASS or sth) other than Viper 791xv?
Your helps are really appreciated.
Shaowei
KarTuneMan 
Platinum - Posts: 7,056
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Posted: November 01, 2006 at 12:28 PM / IP Logged  
Do you have any spare keys for the car, perhaps one that is ALL metal, no plastic on the key. If so, you do not need a bypass. I would get it anyways, cause it would SUCK to get all done and find out you gotta have it.
jzlitao 
Member spacespace
Posted: November 01, 2006 at 1:04 PM / IP Logged  

KarTuneMan wrote:
Do you have any spare keys for the car, perhaps one that is ALL metal, no plastic on the key. If so, you do not need a bypass. I would get it anyways, cause it would SUCK to get all done and find out you gotta have it.

Thanks for your reply.

As I said earlier , I have a spare key with ALL metal. So I need not buy any bypass,right?   Do I need prepare some extra cables, relay,etc. or the Viper 761xv package from Amazon.com comes with all the cables I needed?

Thanks in advance.

snotdobbs 
Copper - Posts: 148