Alarm/Remote Start in 2005 Ford Ranger

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
ravesrus19 
Member - Posts: 24
Member spacespace
Posted: December 14, 2006 at 12:40 AM / IP Logged  

Hello there

I am getting reay to perform my first alarm installation in my 2005 ford ranger (4 door).

My question is about remote starts and how much extra work is involved. This feature is not to important to me and wouldnt be heart breaking if i didn't have it. I am an electriccal technician so im sure i can manage it, but time is an issue, as i dont have alot, and if this installation is very time consuming i will skip it.

I would also like to know if someone could get me started in the right direction. Should i take my dash off first? Or maybe start splicing in the SJB? I have already had my door panels off, so this is one thing i know that will not hold me up for very long.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, as I am green to car alarms.

thnx

2005 Ford Ranger, 4 door , stx model
05gt 
Silver - Posts: 628
Silver spacespace
Posted: December 14, 2006 at 12:46 AM / IP Logged  

the ford ranger is an easy truck to do, if you have a little bit of experience, the most complicated part of it would be doing the doorpin wires cause ford has a system where the GEM module will shut down to conserve power, thus inturn the alarm sees this and the alarm will trigger

someone I am sure will explain it a little better thna this, cause it sounds like jibberish and I am tired

Fastlearner 
Silver - Posts: 346
Silver spacespace
Posted: December 14, 2006 at 2:46 AM / IP Logged  
You can actually shut down the gem module so it doesn't happen. I can't remember exactly i'm sure some one does. Somthing like put key in ignition and hit unlock three times then take key out hit unlock three times and put key in ignition position and hit unlock three times. Something like that so you don't have to catch the door boot wires.
ers1121 
Copper - Posts: 110
Copper spacespace