the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

2000 explore and pk1


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
dwbarger 
Member - Posts: 30
Member spacespace
Joined: March 26, 2006
Location: United States
Posted: January 03, 2007 at 8:47 PM / IP Logged  
Got a good one. I installed a remote starter on a 2000 explorer using the pK1 since the customer only had 1 key. Well after doing the install and trying to program the PK1 3 times and deciding I would use a different module I put the vehicle back together and was going to give it back to the customer until a new module came in the vehicle would not start with the key the theft light just flashed rapidly. Well to make this long story short I ended up taking the vehicle to a ford garage and $450.00 later for a new pats module and the dealer telling me the remote start caused this, Well I brought it back to my shop installed the old module programmed it 1st time and everything worked. Is this possible that I caused this pats module to go or just a freak thing. I have been installing starters for over 5 years now and used just about every module out there and never had an issue like this.
Hymer 
Silver - Posts: 695
Silver spacespace
Joined: November 20, 2004
Location: United States
Posted: January 03, 2007 at 9:43 PM / IP Logged  
Not really... I guess it could happen, Iv'e seen some guys wire these things totally backwards and have no problem.. I belive the entire pats system can be disabled via a good scan tool... never tried it...    Thos pk1's can be a troublesome little bypass at times though too... never had one zorch anything though... did ya call the tech support guys, and ask them , just out of sheer curiousity?
Tire Proz Stillwater Mn
High End Restyling and Comlete Repair
dwbarger 
Member - Posts: 30
Member spacespace
Joined: March 26, 2006
Location: United States
Posted: January 03, 2007 at 10:03 PM / IP Logged  
Yes I contacted tech support. They did not have a clue. This was the first I used the PK1 and the last time I will again.
dwbarger 
Member - Posts: 30
Member spacespace
Joined: March 26, 2006
Location: United States
Posted: January 03, 2007 at 10:03 PM / IP Logged  
Yes I contacted tech support. They did not have a clue. This was the first I used the PK1 and the last time I will again.
profuse007 
Gold - Posts: 2,015
Gold spacespace
Joined: October 20, 2002
Location: Texas, United States
Posted: January 03, 2007 at 11:33 PM / IP Logged  
^ just a bad luck bro. those units are pretty solid.
Houston,TX
"The two most common elements in the universe are H+ and stupidity" (Ellison).
ers1121 
Copper - Posts: 110
Copper spacespace
Joined: January 23, 2004
Location: New Jersey, United States
Posted: January 04, 2007 at 6:02 AM / IP Logged  
I never saw a bypass module fry anything. I tried one of those same modules on my 99 Explorer and couldn't get it to work either. tech support said there were some issues with 99-01 Explorers. Customer support denied it but I have to go with the tech guy.
Ed
dwbarger 
Member - Posts: 30
Member spacespace
Joined: March 26, 2006
Location: United States
Posted: January 04, 2007 at 11:48 AM / IP Logged  
I to have heard of issues with these vehicles. I have never heard of a module burning out the pats but you never know I guess.
splaudio 
Copper - Posts: 237
Copper spacespace
Joined: January 22, 2006
Posted: January 06, 2007 at 9:09 AM / IP Logged  
that is strange.were the wires hooked up wrong?
dwbarger 
Member - Posts: 30
Member spacespace
Joined: March 26, 2006
Location: United States
Posted: January 06, 2007 at 7:10 PM / IP Logged  
Nope. The thing is with the pats bypass you only tie into 2 wires the send and recieve even if you would cross them there is no chance of burning out the pats unit. The only other connections are ground and ignition on the module. I think the unit was ready to go and it just happened while I was working on it. The best part was it took the Ford garage 7 hours to figure out what it was. when I went in to see what was going on after 5 hours he had 5 different manuals opened up and told me he was trouble finding the problem. I had to tell the tech to check the pats module and were it was located. After I showed him were it was he pulled it checked it, replaced it, reprogrammed the computer and keys and all was good. Came home reinstalled the r/s and the PK1 programmed it the first time and all worked like it was supposed to. That makes me believe it was just the pats module. Just curious if anyone else had things like this happen.

Sorry, you can NOT post a reply.
This topic is closed.

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Wednesday, December 1, 2021 • Copyright © 1999-2021 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer