icon

components picking up engine noise

Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
rooskie 
Member - Posts: 2
Member spacespace
Posted: January 24, 2007 at 1:56 AM / IP Logged  
I recently installed some polk db series components. I've never had a problem with the feedback, or electronic noise like this until I amped the speakers. I understand plugs without radio protection could do this but mine have an "R" which rules that out. I've also been told speaker wires crossing paths with amp power or other accessory power sources may cause this. One other theory is amp is too close to the grounding point. I've moved the amp from under the driver seat, to the trunk where the sub amp is. I am not a professional installer nor do I have much experience, but I do love music and clarity is a must. None of which is enjoyable with a humming that follows rpms. Please any advice on what to do?? I have resorted to turning the deck off and cruising with the bland road noise lol. I know many of you proffesionals can relate to complaints, I just couldn't find any posts to pick advice out of. Help please.   
Andrew
forbidden 
Platinum - Posts: 5,352
Platinum spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spacespace
Posted: January 24, 2007 at 2:58 AM / IP Logged  

Do a search on alternator whine. What is the chance you have a Pioneer cd player? If so do a search on Pioneer noise issues. What you have is a ground loop, not wires crossed over, not amp too close to a grounding point, no plugs without radio protection, just a difference in ground potentials that manifests itslelf as noise in your system.

Top Secret, I can tell you but then my wife will kill me.
i am an idiot 
Platinum - Posts: 13,670
Platinum spaceThis member consistently provides reliable informationspace
Posted: January 24, 2007 at 7:15 AM / IP Logged