the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
icon

Car won't RS when very cold sometimes


Post ReplyPost New Topic
< Prev Topic Next Topic >
cpgoose 
Gold - Posts: 1,098
Gold spacespace
Joined: July 08, 2002
Location: United States
Posted: January 25, 2007 at 12:34 PM / IP Logged  
Hello,
I've had the same remote starter in my car for a few years. Now that it's very cold out, it sometimes doesn't start after sitting overnight. This only happens sometimes, though...maybe 1 out of every 10 times. It lights up the dash like it's about to start, and then just clicks...it never even cranks.
I have the crank time on the default of 0.6 seconds. Do you think if I change it to 0.8 or 1.0 it might make a difference? The reason I ask that is because when it doesn't start remotely, but then I go to start it with the key, I actually have to hold the key a little longer during crank for it to start. So I thought if I increased the RS crank time by a little it might help. What I don't want is to overcrank if it "usually" works just fine.
Any ideas would be great!
Hymer 
Silver - Posts: 695
Silver spacespace
Joined: November 20, 2004
Location: United States
Posted: January 25, 2007 at 1:27 PM / IP Logged  
That might work, check the battery voltage when it does this also. Some RS wont send the crank signal unless they see the voltage is above a threshold.
Tire Proz Stillwater Mn
High End Restyling and Comlete Repair
Mike M2 
Platinum - Posts: 2,652
Platinum spacespace
Joined: June 29, 2005
Location: United States
Posted: January 25, 2007 at 4:37 PM / IP Logged  
Ok, what kind of car?
Mike M2
Tech Manager
CS Dealer Services
mikvot 
Gold - Posts: 1,043
Gold spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: December 19, 2006
Location: Missouri, United States
Posted: January 25, 2007 at 7:07 PM / IP Logged  
no matter what the crank time is, the car should at least try to start.....unless your battery is goin dead. Do you have the tach wire hooked up or voltage sense?
cpgoose 
Gold - Posts: 1,098
Gold spacespace
Joined: July 08, 2002
Location: United States
Posted: January 25, 2007 at 8:24 PM / IP Logged  
It's a '92 Integra. The car battery is probably somewhat on the older side, but again...this only happens ocasionally. It's hooked up (and has been hooked up for a while) with the tach wire.
Again, it doesn't crank at all. The dash lights up, I hear one "click", and then it stops.
mikvot 
Gold - Posts: 1,043
Gold spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: December 19, 2006
Location: Missouri, United States
Posted: January 25, 2007 at 8:33 PM / IP Logged  

yeah, i would say it is a problem with the remote start, could be bad connection or more likely, something internal. changing the crank time will not change the problem you are having.

Hymer 
Silver - Posts: 695
Silver spacespace
Joined: November 20, 2004
Location: United States
Posted: January 25, 2007 at 8:36 PM / IP Logged  
check and see if the starter out wire is sending out 12v. if it is, then I would think, mabey a hood pin causing the problem, or possibly a poor ground.
Tire Proz Stillwater Mn
High End Restyling and Comlete Repair
splaudio 
Copper - Posts: 237
Copper spacespace
Joined: January 22, 2006
Posted: January 26, 2007 at 6:59 AM / IP Logged  
have seen it a few times and it is always the car battery...
Velocity Motors 
Moderator - Posts: 12,488
Moderator spaceThis member has made a donation to the12volt.com. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Electrical Theory. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Fabrication. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Audio and Video. Click here for more info.spaceThis member has been recognized as an authority in Mobile Security and Convenience. Click here for more info.spacespace
Joined: March 08, 2002
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posted: January 26, 2007 at 8:49 AM / IP Logged  
If there's no attempt at crank with a Honda, chances are a battery issue or a connection issue. The tach from a Honda is normally very good if you grabbed it at the BLUE wire at the distributor.
Jeff
Velocity Custom Home Theater
Mobile Audio/Video Specialist
Morden, Manitoba CANADA
cpgoose 
Gold - Posts: 1,098
Gold spacespace
Joined: July 08, 2002
Location: United States
Posted: January 26, 2007 at 8:52 AM / IP Logged  
Hey, I'm starting to think you guys are right about the battery. I did use the blue wire, and it never really failed me.
I bought the car used and have had it for 5+ years...and I've never changed the battery....so who knows how old it is.
Page of 3

  Printable version Printable version Post ReplyPost New Topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot create polls in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

  •  
Search the12volt.com
Follow the12volt.com Follow the12volt.com on Facebook
Saturday, February 24, 2024 • Copyright © 1999-2024 the12volt.com, All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy & Use of Cookies
Disclaimer: *All information on this site ( the12volt.com ) is provided "as is" without any warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to fitness for a particular use. Any user assumes the entire risk as to the accuracy and use of this information. Please verify all wire colors and diagrams before applying any information.

Secured by Sectigo
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer
Support the12volt.com
Top
the12volt.com spacer
the12volt.com spacer